Donate now
Tackling life's big challenges through the proven power of reading

Resources

Our newsletter » Sign up for regular news from The Reading Agency

More info » Find out more about Reading Hack

Reading Hack online » The latest news and competitions for young people

Toolkits and training » Resources and guidance to support your volunteering offer

Impact » Find out how Reading Hack makes a difference to young people

28 July 2021

August Booklist for Children & Young People: For the Love of Books

It’s safe to say, here at The Reading Agency, we love books. And we know you do too! So, we have created a booklist to celebrate Book Lovers Day on 9th August 2021. This list includes titles for toddlers, children,...

12 July 2021

Latest opportunities from our publisher partners for schools and libraries

If you have a reading group with children or work in a school or library – we have some fantastic opportunities for you! There are Read and Review opportunities where you have a chance of receiving 10 copies of a...

29 June 2021

GIRL (in real life) by Tamsin Winter - Teachers' Notes & Discussion Questions

What’s it like to grow up online and have every tantrum, every spot – even your first period – broadcast to hundreds of thousands of followers? A funny and heartfelt novel for fans of Geek Girl, from the award-winning Tamsin...

25 June 2021

A Glasshouse of Stars by Shirley Marr - Teachers' Notes and digital pack

A Glasshouse of Stars is a powerful story based on Shirley Marr’s childhood experience of migration. This teaching and discussion resource pack aimed at 8+/KS2+ readers explores some of the important themes within the book such as bullying, grief, fears...

04 June 2021

Refugee Week Booklist

Refugee Week is 14-20 June 2021. We have worked with our publisher partners to create a booklist to help children, young people and adults understand the realities refugees around the world face, and sympathise with their experiences. The list contains...

01 June 2021

Read with Pride - Summer of Reading List 2021 A3 poster

The second Paper & Hearts Society adventure. Join Olivia and The Paper & Hearts Society gang in this joyful comfort read and celebration of books from Booktuber Lucy Powrie. The perfect book for fans of Alice Oseman, Holly Smale and...

24 May 2021

The Yearbook by Holly Bourne - Teachers' Notes

Paige is used to staying quiet in the face of lies. Like how popular girl Grace is a such an amazing person (lie). How Laura steals people’s boyfriends (lie). How her own family are so perfect (lie). Now Grace and friends...

19 May 2021

Wish You Were Dead: Quick Reads learning resource

This learning resource has been written to support the use of Quick Reads with less confident readers. It suggests discussion points and activities chapter by chapter. The resource is in an editable word document format as you may find that...

18 May 2021

Saving the Day: Quick Reads learning resource

This learning resource has been written to support the use of Quick Reads with less confident readers. It suggests discussion points and activities chapter by chapter. The resource is in an editable word document format as you may find that...

18 May 2021

The Baby Is Mine: Quick Reads learning resource

This learning resource has been written to support the use of Quick Reads with less confident readers. It suggests discussion points and activities chapter by chapter. The resource is in an editable word document format as you may find that...

18 May 2021

How to be a Woman: Quick Reads learning resource

This learning resource has been written to support the use of Quick Reads with less confident readers. It suggests discussion points and activities chapter by chapter. The resource is in an editable word document format as you may find that...

18 May 2021

The Motive: Quick Reads learning resource

This learning resource has been written to support the use of Quick Reads with less confident readers. It suggests discussion points and activities chapter by chapter. The resource is in an editable word document format as you may find that...

18 May 2021

The Skylight: Quick Reads learning resource

This learning resource has been written to support the use of Quick Reads with less confident readers. It suggests discussion points and activities chapter by chapter. The resource is in an editable word document format as you may find that...

17 May 2021

Children and Young People's July Booklist: Nature and Wildlife

July marks the start of the Summer Reading Challenge, which this year is in partnership with World Wildlife Fund (WWF). We have created a booklist inspired by the theme Nature and Wildlife, with a mix of fiction, non-fiction, picture books...

17 May 2021

Children and Young People's June Booklist: Around the World

This month we’re travelling around the world with a selection of fantastic books for children and young people. This list includes a mix of fiction and non-fiction for readers of all ages, and includes a number of translated books. There...

14 May 2021

The Lightning Catcher by Clare Weze - Teacher Notes

Alfie has noticed a few things since his family moved to Folding Ford. He really misses life in the city. He and his sister don’t exactly fit in here. But the most interesting one is that the weather is BONKERS....

14 May 2021

Cardboard Cowboys by Brian Conaghan - Teacher Notes

Multi-award-winning author Brian Conaghan’s first book for 10+ readers is a future classic brimming with humour and heart Even though I found him living in a house made of cardboard, Bruce is a massive legend. FACT. So this mine and Bruce’s...

12 May 2021

The Strangeworlds Travel Agency – Teacher Resources and Book Trailer

Escape to new worlds with The Strangeworlds Travel Agency, a magical adventure series for children aged 9+! Hachette Children’s Group have created a teacher resource pack that is bursting with classroom ideas and cross-curricular activities for KS2, comprising themes of travel,...

06 May 2021

Adult May Booklist - Back in Time

May marks Local and Community History Month and we have curated a booklist that brings together all different strands of British history, from the 1590s to the 1980s. There is a mix of fiction and non-fiction, with something for every...

06 May 2021

Children and Young People's Booklist: Back in Time

May marks Local and Community History Month and we have curated a booklist that brings together all different strands of British history, with a few stories that look further afield too. There is a mix of fiction, non-fiction and poetry,...

28 April 2021

The Usborne Unworry Pack

The Usborne Unworry Pack is a collection of fun, mindful activities to help children and adults UNWORRY. It’s full of things to calm you down and distract you, and places where you can put your worries, instead of letting them...

14 April 2021

The Outlaws Scarlett and Browne by Jonathan Stroud - Discussion Guide

England has been radically changed by a series of catastrophes – large cities have disappeared and London has been replaced by a lagoon. The surviving population exists in fortified towns where they cling to traditional ways, while strangely evolved beasts...

13 April 2021

The Black Friend by Frederick Joseph - Discussion Guide

Speaking directly to the reader, Frederick Joseph offers powerful reflections on his own experiences with racism in The Black Friend: On Being a Better White Person. As a former “token Black kid”, he now presents himself as the friend...

01 April 2021

April 2021 Children's and Young People booklist - Books to Make You Smile

World Book Night is the annual celebration of books and reading on 23 April that brings people from all backgrounds together for one reason – to inspire others to read more. Presented by The Reading Agency, and in partnership with...

17 March 2021

What’s the T? by Juno Dawson – Discussion Questions

What’s the T? is the essential guide to help readers aged 14+ discover what it means to be transgender and/or non-binary. From identity and expression to coming out and dating, Juno Dawson offers a frank and funny exploration of life...

15 March 2021

The Supreme Lie by Geraldine McCaughrean - Discussion Questions

Twice Carnegie medal winning Geraldine McCaughrean’s enthralling new novel is set in a world paralysed by natural disaster and dangerous lies. Fifteen-year-old Gloria is maid to Afalia’s tyrannical Head of State, Madame Suprema. When the country is hit by unprecedented flooding,...

04 March 2021

March 2021 Children's and Young People booklist - Wonder Women

March is Women’s History Month, so we have created a booklist to celebrate some of our favourite stories about inspirational girls and women or fantastic books written by them. We hope that you will enjoy reading and discussing these stories...

04 February 2021

February 2021 Children's and Young People booklist - Express Yourself (Children's Mental Health Week)

Place2Be launched the first ever Children’s Mental Health Week in 2015 to shine a spotlight on the importance of children and young people’s mental health. This year’s theme is Express Yourself as expressing yourself is about finding ways to share...

07 January 2021

January 2021 Children's and Young People booklist - Something New

As we enter a new year and find ourselves in lockdown, we wanted the first booklist of the year for children and young people to focus on books that we hope will inspire them to learn a new skill, support...

18 December 2020

December 2020 Children's and Young People booklist - Winter Wonderland

As we head into the grey and cold, we thought that we would share some great books set during the Winter or set in beautiful winter wonderlands. We have some classics, lovely illustrated stories and some thrilling page-turners. You can...