Donate now
Tackling life's big challenges through the proven power of reading

Resources

16 September 2021

100 Poets by John Carey Reading Group Questions

John Carey has compiled a short, uniquely valuable anthology of verse based on a simple principle: select the one hundred greatest poets from across the centuries, and then choose their very best poems. Here are some book club questions to...

15 September 2021

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr Reading Group Questions

Readers questions for the award winning All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr. WINNER OF THE 2015 PULITZER PRIZE FOR FICTION NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER WINNER OF THE CARNEGIE MEDAL FOR FICTION A beautiful, stunningly ambitious novel about...

16 August 2021

Adult September Booklist: The Power of Reading

To celebrate National Literacy Day on 8th September 2021, we have created a list of books perfect for less confident readers, people developing their literacy skills, and those looking for something short and sweet! There is a mix of fantastic...

10 August 2021

National Reading Group Day - library toolkit

This toolkit will help librarians to plan for National Reading Group Day on 14 September. Activity packs for Reading Friends and Chatterbooks groups will be available soon. Contact readinggroups@readingagency.org.uk with any questions.

28 July 2021

Adult August Booklist: For the Love of Books

To celebrate Book Lovers’ Day on 9 August, we have compiled a list of books all about the joy of reading, bookshops and libraries! The list also includes titles which think are perfect for inspiring a love of reading.

19 July 2021

Choose Songbirds for your next Reading Group

We are pleased to be able to offer downloadable Reading Group questions for Songbirds, the powerful follow-up to The Beekeeper of Aleppo. Nisha has crossed oceans to give her child a future. By day she cares for Petra’s daughter; at night...

15 July 2021

Radio 2 Book Club titles April-June 2021

Here are all the titles recommended by the Radio 2 Book Club on the Steve Wright in the Afternoon Show from April to June 2021. These books were chosen in collaboration with librarians in the UK. You can find out more...

09 July 2021

National Poetry Day Discussion Notes

Join in the National Poetry Day celebration on 7 October by choosing a book from the list of recommended books for reading groups. There’s no right or wrong way to approach poetry, or to appreciate and discuss it. This guide...

30 June 2021

We Can Do Better Than This: 35 Voices on the Future of LGBTQ+ Rights

To celebrate the publication of WE CAN DO BETTER THAN THIS: 35 Voices on the Future of LGBTQ+ Rights, edited by Amelia Abraham, we have a poster available to download. How can we create a better world for LGBTQ+ people? 35...

30 June 2021

Djinn Patrol on the Purple Line by Deepa Anappara - Reading Guide Booklet

Discover the heart-rending, unforgettable novel longlisted for the Women’s Prize 2020 with Vintage’s Reading Group Booklet. We would love to see how you use the reading guide on social media using #DjinnPatrol and @VintageBooks. ‘A dazzling, wonderful book’ ELIF SHAFAK ‘The arrival of a...

23 June 2021

The Courage to Care Reading Guide

The Courage to Care is a vital and timely book about inspirational nurses, and the bravery of patients and families, from the bestselling author of The Language of Kindness. Written by Christie Watson and published by Vintage.

23 June 2021

The Courage to Care Downloadable Poster

The Courage to Care is a vital and timely book about inspirational nurses, and the bravery of patients and families, from the bestselling author of The Language of Kindness. Written by Christie Watson and published by Vintage.

18 June 2021

THE FATHER film discussion guide

In THE FATHER, Hopkins plays the eponymous role of a mischievous and highly independent man who, as he ages, refuses all assistance from his daughter Anne (Olivia Colman). Yet, such help has become essential following Anne’s decision to move to...

04 June 2021

Refugee Week Booklist

Refugee Week is 14-20 June 2021. We have worked with our publisher partners to create a booklist to help children, young people and adults understand the realities refugees around the world face, and sympathise with their experiences. The list contains...

01 June 2021

Read with Pride - Summer of Reading List 2021 A3 poster

The second Paper & Hearts Society adventure. Join Olivia and The Paper & Hearts Society gang in this joyful comfort read and celebration of books from Booktuber Lucy Powrie. The perfect book for fans of Alice Oseman, Holly Smale and...

17 May 2021

Adult July Booklist: Nature and Wildlife

Nature and wildlife have been a respite for many over the past year. This booklist includes a mixture of fiction, memoir, poetry and non-fiction, covering the restorative powers of swimming and gardening, the history of our relationship with sheep, animals...

17 May 2021

Adult June Booklist: Around the World

This month we’re celebrating books from around the world – those which immerse us into a different landscape, culture or community. There are books that take us from Burma to Alabama, Trinidad to Italy, translated from Hebrew, Russian, Japanese and...

13 May 2021

Quick Reads 2021 Discussion Guides

Use these reader and discussion guides in book groups, Reading Ahead sessions or literacy classes to spark conversation about the six 2021 Quick Reads.

06 May 2021

When We Cease to Understand the World – International Booker Prize 2021 Discussion Guide

Download this discussion guide for When We Cease to Understand the World by Benjamín Labatut, translated by Adrian Nathan West, shortlisted for the International Booker Prize 2021. See the full International Booker Prize shortlist.

06 May 2021

The War of the Poor – International Booker Prize 2021 Discussion Guide

Download this discussion guide for The War of the Poor by Éric Vuillard, translated by Mark Polizzotti, shortlisted for the International Booker Prize 2021. See the full International Booker Prize shortlist.

06 May 2021

The Employees – International Booker Prize 2021 Discussion Guide

Download this discussion guide for The Employees by Olga Ravn, translated by Martin Aitken, shortlisted for the International Booker Prize 2021. See the full International Booker Prize shortlist.

06 May 2021

The Dangers of Smoking in Bed – International Booker Prize 2021 Discussion Guide

Download this discussion guide for The Dangers of Smoking in Bed by Mariana Enríquez, translated by Megan McDowell, shortlisted for the International Booker Prize 2021. See the full International Booker Prize shortlist.

06 May 2021

In Memory of Memory – International Booker Prize 2021 Discussion Guide

Download this discussion guide for In Memory of Memory by Maria Stepanova, translated by Sasha Dugdale, shortlisted for the International Booker Prize 2021. See the full International Booker Prize shortlist.

06 May 2021

At Night All Blood Is Black - International Booker Prize 2021 Discussion Guide

Download this discussion guide for At Night All Blood Is Black by David Diop, translated by Anna Moschovakis, shortlisted for the International Booker Prize 2021. See the full International Booker Prize shortlist.

06 May 2021

Adult May Booklist - Back in Time

May marks Local and Community History Month and we have curated a booklist that brings together all different strands of British history, from the 1590s to the 1980s. There is a mix of fiction and non-fiction, with something for every...

28 April 2021

Unsettled Ground – Women's Prize for Fiction Reading Guide

Download this reading guide, produced by the Women’s Prize for Fiction, for Unsettled Ground by Claire Fuller, shortlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction 2021.

28 April 2021

Transcendent Kingdom - Women's Prize for Fiction

Download this reading guide, produced by the Women’s Prize for Fiction, for Transcendent Kingdom by Yaa Gyasi, shortlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction 2021.

28 April 2021

The Vanishing Half – Women's Prize for Fiction Reading Guide

Download this reading guide, produced by the Women’s Prize for Fiction, for The Vanishing Half by Brit Bennett, shortlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction 2021.

28 April 2021

Piranesi - Women's Prize for Fiction Reading Guide

Download this reading guide, produced by the Women’s Prize for Fiction, for Piranesi by Susanna Clarke, shortlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction 2021.

28 April 2021

No One Is Talking About This - Women's Prize for Fiction Reading Guide

Download this reading guide, produced by the Women’s Prize for Fiction, for No One Is Talking About This by Patricia Lockwood, shortlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction 2021.