Donate now
Tackling life's big challenges through the proven power of reading

Resources

25 November 2021

The Reading Agency's Books of the Year! Adult

At The Reading Agency, we have read a lot of brilliant books over the past year; books that have made us laugh, cry and get through those challenging lockdown months. Members of our team have picked the book that stood...

24 November 2021

Extract of Still Life by Sarah Winman

Still Life by Sarah Winman is one of the novels featured on series 3 of BBC Two’s Between the Covers. Read an exclusive extract of the novel here. Find out about Between the Covers.

23 November 2021

Reading Friends resource pack: The Imperfect Art of Caring

This free resource pack for The Imperfect Art of Caring by Jessica Ryn has been designed for Reading Friends projects. It contains an extract from the book and discussion questions intended to support conversations and reflections on personal experiences...

11 November 2021

The Prince of the Skies A3 Poster

From the bestselling author of The Librarian of Auschwitz, Antonio Iturbe, comes a captivating historical novel based on a true story – the extraordinary life and mysterious death of Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, author of The Little Prince. Here is a...

11 November 2021

The Prince of the Skies Reading Group Questions

From the bestselling author of The Librarian of Auschwitz, Antonio Iturbe, comes a captivating historical novel based on a true story – the extraordinary life and mysterious death of Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, author of The Little Prince. Here are some downloadable...

04 November 2021

Booker Prize 2021 shortlist reading groups

If you’re reading any of the Booker Prize 2021 shortlisted titles, these reading guides will help to spark discussion and get you thinking.

02 November 2021

His Only Wife by Peace Adzo Medie - Book Club Kit

Oneworld have created a Book Club Kit for His Only Wife by Peace Adzo Medie. His Only Wife is a captivating debut and a Reese Witherspoon’s Book Club Pick! ‘Vivid, witty and utterly absorbing.’ Daily Mail In one of the most...

21 October 2021

November Booklist for Adults: Noteworthy Non-fiction

From the interviews with famous people about love in all its forms, to the experiences of a GP during the Covid pandemic, to the history of The Beatles, our list of noteworthy non-fiction has something for everyone.

19 October 2021

RISE by Maliha Abidi: competition resources

This pack contains an PDF sampler of the book RISE by Maliha Abidi and a promotional poster for a competition inspired by the book. RISE celebrates the inspirational stories of 100 remarkable women of colour. From the entrepreneur with a homemade...

07 October 2021

Adult October Booklist: Perfect Poetry

Celebrate National Poetry Day on 7 October 2021 – and every day! – with this fantastic selection of poetry collections, anthologies and song lyrics.

07 October 2021

Canelo Crime digital promotional materials

This pack contains digital materials for libraries and other organisations to promote titles in Canelo Crime’s collection, including: Bunting template Social media assets for Twitter, Facebook and Instagram Pre-written social media copy and handles

27 September 2021

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath - Reading Guide

Faber have created a reading guide to one of the BBC’s ’100 novels that shaped our world’, and the Guardian called ‘a modern classic’. The Bell Jar, Sylvia Plath’s only novel, is partially based on Plath’s own life. It has...

16 September 2021

100 Poets by John Carey Reading Group Questions

John Carey has compiled a short, uniquely valuable anthology of verse based on a simple principle: select the one hundred greatest poets from across the centuries, and then choose their very best poems. Here are some book club questions to...

15 September 2021

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr Reading Group Questions

Readers questions for the award winning All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr. WINNER OF THE 2015 PULITZER PRIZE FOR FICTION NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER WINNER OF THE CARNEGIE MEDAL FOR FICTION A beautiful, stunningly ambitious novel about...

16 August 2021

Adult September Booklist: The Power of Reading

To celebrate National Literacy Day on 8th September 2021, we have created a list of books perfect for less confident readers, people developing their literacy skills, and those looking for something short and sweet! There is a mix of fantastic...

10 August 2021

National Reading Group Day - library toolkit

This toolkit will help librarians to plan for National Reading Group Day on 14 September. Activity packs for Reading Friends and Chatterbooks groups will be available soon. Contact readinggroups@readingagency.org.uk with any questions.

28 July 2021

Adult August Booklist: For the Love of Books

To celebrate Book Lovers’ Day on 9 August, we have compiled a list of books all about the joy of reading, bookshops and libraries! The list also includes titles which think are perfect for inspiring a love of reading.

19 July 2021

Choose Songbirds for your next Reading Group

We are pleased to be able to offer downloadable Reading Group questions for Songbirds, the powerful follow-up to The Beekeeper of Aleppo. Nisha has crossed oceans to give her child a future. By day she cares for Petra’s daughter; at night...

15 July 2021

Radio 2 Book Club titles April-June 2021

Here are all the titles recommended by the Radio 2 Book Club on the Steve Wright in the Afternoon Show from April to June 2021. These books were chosen in collaboration with librarians in the UK. You can find out more...

09 July 2021

National Poetry Day Discussion Notes

Join in the National Poetry Day celebration on 7 October by choosing a book from the list of recommended books for reading groups. There’s no right or wrong way to approach poetry, or to appreciate and discuss it. This guide...

30 June 2021

We Can Do Better Than This: 35 Voices on the Future of LGBTQ+ Rights

To celebrate the publication of WE CAN DO BETTER THAN THIS: 35 Voices on the Future of LGBTQ+ Rights, edited by Amelia Abraham, we have a poster available to download. How can we create a better world for LGBTQ+ people? 35...

30 June 2021

Djinn Patrol on the Purple Line by Deepa Anappara - Reading Guide Booklet

Discover the heart-rending, unforgettable novel longlisted for the Women’s Prize 2020 with Vintage’s Reading Group Booklet. We would love to see how you use the reading guide on social media using #DjinnPatrol and @VintageBooks. ‘A dazzling, wonderful book’ ELIF SHAFAK ‘The arrival of a...

23 June 2021

The Courage to Care Reading Guide

The Courage to Care is a vital and timely book about inspirational nurses, and the bravery of patients and families, from the bestselling author of The Language of Kindness. Written by Christie Watson and published by Vintage.

23 June 2021

The Courage to Care Downloadable Poster

The Courage to Care is a vital and timely book about inspirational nurses, and the bravery of patients and families, from the bestselling author of The Language of Kindness. Written by Christie Watson and published by Vintage.

18 June 2021

THE FATHER film discussion guide

In THE FATHER, Hopkins plays the eponymous role of a mischievous and highly independent man who, as he ages, refuses all assistance from his daughter Anne (Olivia Colman). Yet, such help has become essential following Anne’s decision to move to...

04 June 2021

Refugee Week Booklist

Refugee Week is 14-20 June 2021. We have worked with our publisher partners to create a booklist to help children, young people and adults understand the realities refugees around the world face, and sympathise with their experiences. The list contains...

01 June 2021

Read with Pride - Summer of Reading List 2021 A3 poster

The second Paper & Hearts Society adventure. Join Olivia and The Paper & Hearts Society gang in this joyful comfort read and celebration of books from Booktuber Lucy Powrie. The perfect book for fans of Alice Oseman, Holly Smale and...

17 May 2021

Adult July Booklist: Nature and Wildlife

Nature and wildlife have been a respite for many over the past year. This booklist includes a mixture of fiction, memoir, poetry and non-fiction, covering the restorative powers of swimming and gardening, the history of our relationship with sheep, animals...

17 May 2021

Adult June Booklist: Around the World

This month we’re celebrating books from around the world – those which immerse us into a different landscape, culture or community. There are books that take us from Burma to Alabama, Trinidad to Italy, translated from Hebrew, Russian, Japanese and...

13 May 2021

Quick Reads 2021 Discussion Guides

Use these reader and discussion guides in book groups, Reading Ahead sessions or literacy classes to spark conversation about the six 2021 Quick Reads.