Resources

18 October 2017

The Rose Muddle Mysteries - local history activity and competition

The Rose Muddle Mysteries The Rose Muddle Mysteries series by Imogen White is inspired by a real-life historical artefact called the Hove Amber Cup. Many years ago, the cup was found beneath an enormous burial mound which once stood in the...

18 October 2017

Witch for a Week - spellbinding potion competition

Witch for a Week A new magical adventure from Kaye Umansky, the bestselling author of the much loved children’s classic Pongwiffy, brought to life with charming illustrations from Ashley King! To celebrate the start of this spellbinding new series, Simon & Schuster...

18 October 2017

Invitation to tender - Reading Well design

Invitation to tender for the 2018 revision of the adult mental health book list.

18 October 2017

The Polar Bear Explorers’ Club - Postcard competition

The Polar Bear Explorers’ Club It sounded like a respectable and worthy enough death for an explorer – tumbling from an ice bridge to be impaled upon a mammoth tusk – but Stella really, really didn’t want that to happen, just...

17 October 2017

Father Christmas and Me - Christmas bauble competition

Get into the festive spirit by winning a £30 National Book Tokens card and one of FOUR signed books! Father Christmas and Me is the third book in bestselling Matt Haig’s Christmassy series, with enchanting illustrations by Chris Mould. Following...

16 October 2017

Linwood Barclay’s Secret Mission digital resources

Linwood Barclay’s Secret Mission – CHASE Hachette Children’s Group and Orion Books are celebrating the publication of Linwood Barclay’s first novel for children, CHASE, and his new paperback, Parting Shot, by providing these great digital resources for libraries. Hachette Children’s Group and...

13 October 2017

Summer Reading Challenge 2017: Newsletter Archive

Think you’ve missed an update from the Summer Reading Challenge team? Follow the links in this useful resource to catch up on our latest mailings. Please note: this is a locked resource for library authorities participating in the 2017 Summer Reading...

13 October 2017

Winnie and Wilbur 30th birthday activity pack

Winnie and Wilbur Friday 13 October is the 30th birthday of the brilliant Winnie and Wilbur series created by Valerie Thomas and Korky Paul. To celebrate this, Oxford University Press Children’s books have sent us a pack with many activity sheets and...

13 October 2017

Reading Well consultation document adult mental health 2018

Reading Well Books on Prescription for adult common mental health conditions 2018 health sector consultation.

12 October 2017

Book recommendations for English language learners in prison

This is a list of book recommendations for prisoners with English as Second or Additional language who may be taking part in Reading Ahead in prisons. It has been compiled by Jenny Roden and Celine Castelino from NATECLA (National...

12 October 2017

Guidance to support reading for pleasure for prisoners with ESOL

This is a document compiled by Jenny Roden and Celine Castelino from NATECLA (National Association for Teaching English and Community Languages to Adults) to accompany their list of book recommendations for people learning English as a Second or Additional Language...

12 October 2017

Ideas for running Reading Ahead for prisoners with ESOL

This is a downloadable resource created as part of a project funded by the Bell Foundation to support the use of Reading Ahead for prisoners with English as a Second or Additional Language. Please use it in conjunction with...

12 October 2017

Duke of Edinburgh's Award Ideas Pack

Working with DofE volunteers? This pack includes sample volunteer roles, an introduction to the Award and a letter template to help with recruitment

11 October 2017

The Polar Bear Explorers’ Club - Host a Polar Bear Explorers' Book Club

The Polar Bear Explorers’ Club The Polar Bear Explorers’ Club is a gorgeously imaginative and snowy middle grade fantasy adventure combining the magic of Peter Pan, the chaos of A Series of Unfortunate Events, and the thrilling icy adventure of Northern...

10 October 2017

2016-17 Evaluation of Reading Well

2016-17 evaluation of Reading Well Books on Prescription. Research and evaluation completed by BOP consulting.

10 October 2017

Pick a Pine Tree by Patricia Toht - A book trailer and craft activity

Pick a Pine Tree Pick a pine tree from the lot – slim and tall, or short and squat! Long straight limbs or branches bent – Mmm! Just smell that piney scent! From Alan’s Big, Scary Teeth creator, Jarvis, and author Patty...

09 October 2017

The Wonderling - Discussion guide

The Wonderling In this extraordinary debut novel with its deft nod to Dickensian heroes and rogues, Mira Bartók tells the story of Arthur, a shy, fox-like foundling with only one ear and a desperate desire to belong, as he seeks...

09 October 2017

The Dollmaker of Krakow by R. M. Romero - Teachers' guide

The Dollmaker of Krakow A timeless fantasy set in the Second World War that weaves together magic, folklore and history, perfect for fans of The Book Thief, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and Goodnight Mister Tom. One night a little...

09 October 2017

Follow the Track All the Way Back by Timothy Knapman - A book trailer

Follow the Track All the Way Back Today is a BIG day for little Train … he’s going out on the track, all by himself, for the very first time! From Ben Mantle and Timothy Knapman, the author of Soon and Time...

06 October 2017

The Polar Bear Explorers’ Club - Colour in the scene activity

The Polar Bear Explorers’ Club A gorgeously imaginative and snowy middle grade fantasy adventure combining the magic of Peter Pan, the chaos of A Series of Unfortunate Events, and the thrilling icy adventure of Northern Lights. You can read a review from...

06 October 2017

The Polar Bear Explorers’ Club - Drawing activity

The Polar Bear Explorers’ Club _All of a sudden, the sled rose up over the crest of a hill – and they came face to face with a white, sparkling, magnificent castle. Countless spires and turrets rose up high into the sky,...

06 October 2017

The Polar Bear Explorers’ Club - Design your very own crest

Stella joins the Polar Bear Explorers’ Club, Ethan is in the Ocean Squid club. Download this activity sheet and invent your own Explorers’ Club and design a crest below.

06 October 2017

The Polar Bear Explorers’ Club - Make an igloo craft activity

The Polar Bear Explorers’ Club It sounded like a respectable and worthy enough death for an explorer – tumbling from an ice bridge to be impaled upon a mammoth tusk – but Stella really, really didn’t want that to happen, just...

05 October 2017

Witches and Wizards Chatterbooks Activity Pack

Get in the mood for Halloween with this month’s Witches & Wizards Chatterbooks Activity Pack. There are activities, discussion questions and further reading, inspired by our favourite magical characters.

04 October 2017

Amazing Animals Chatterbooks pack

As it is #WorldAnimalDay we are highlighting a brilliant Amazing Animals Chatterbooks pack that we have. Here are some great stories and picture books about all kinds of animals, plus ideas for activities in your Chatterbooks reading group. Download the pack and...

04 October 2017

Witch for a Week - a brilliant book trailer

Witch for a Week Here is a trailer for a new magical adventure from Kaye Umansky, the bestselling author of the much loved children’s classic Pongwiffy. The book is all about Elsie Pickles and is brought to life with charming illustrations...

03 October 2017

Boosting achievement with Reading Ahead

Here are five examples of how Reading Ahead has been used with a range of learners in colleges and adult and community learning. These were commissioned and funded by the Education and Training Foundation.

02 October 2017

Wonder - library activity pack including 'Ways to be 'WONDERful' checklist

Wonder ‘My name is August. I won’t describe what I look like. Whatever you’re thinking, it’s probably worse.’ R. J. Palacio’s Wonder is the unforgettable story of August Pullman, an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face. It is a funny and frank...

02 October 2017

We're All Wonders - library activity pack and colouring competition

We’re all Wonders “I know I can’t change the way I look. But maybe, just maybe, people can change the way they see . . .” Wonder is the unforgettable story of August Pullman and has become a modern classic that has...

29 September 2017

Luna Loves Library Day - reviews activity

Award-winning performance poet Joseph Coehlo has written his first picture book Luna Loves Library Day, illustrated by Fiona Lumbers, publishing this October. This lovely book is based around Luna loving her special time in the library. What better way to engage...