Donate now
Tackling life's big challenges through the proven power of reading

Resources

Sign up » Sign up to the Chatterbooks network and the monthly newsletter

Latest offers » Offers and competitions from children’s publishers

More info » Find out more about Chatterbooks reading clubs for children

Buy Chatterbooks materials » Schools’ starter packs – welcome packs for children and group leaders’ toolkits

17 May 2021

Latest opportunities from our publisher partners for schools and libraries

If you have a reading group with children or work in a school or library – we have some fantastic opportunities for you! There are Read and Review opportunities where you have a chance of receiving 10 copies of a...

17 May 2021

Children and Young People's July Booklist: Nature and Wildlife

July marks the start of the Summer Reading Challenge, which this year is in partnership with World Wildlife Fund (WWF). We have created a booklist inspired by the theme Nature and Wildlife, with a mix of fiction, non-fiction, picture books...

17 May 2021

Children and Young People's June Booklist: Around the World

This month we’re travelling around the world with a selection of fantastic books for children and young people. This list includes a mix of fiction and non-fiction for readers of all ages, and includes a number of translated books. There...

17 May 2021

The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke by Kirsty Applebaum - digital pack

What if you could save lives? What if, just with the touch of your hand, you could stop an animal, or even a person, dying? You’d do it, wouldn’t you? The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke is the captivating new...

17 May 2021

Maybe… by Chris Haughton – Baby & Toddler Storytime pack

Host a Storytime event for Chris Haughton’s vibrant and mischievous new picture book! Three little monkeys, and their big monkey, are sat high up on their branch in the forest canopy. “Ok, monkeys! I’m off,” says the big monkey. “Now remember....

14 May 2021

The Truths We Hold by Kamala Harris - Young Readers Guide

Now adapted for young readers, Vice President Kamala Harris’s empowering memoir about the values and inspirations that guided her life. With her election to the vice presidency, her election to the U.S. Senate, and her position as attorney general of California,...

14 May 2021

When We Say Black Lives Matter by Maxine Beneba Clarke - activity sheets

A timely, powerful and much-needed picture book exploring the background to the Black Lives Matter movement for young children. A beautifully illustrated and poignant picture book about the Black Lives Matter movement – it’s deep history, background and meaning – as...

14 May 2021

The Lightning Catcher by Clare Weze - Teacher Notes

Alfie has noticed a few things since his family moved to Folding Ford. He really misses life in the city. He and his sister don’t exactly fit in here. But the most interesting one is that the weather is BONKERS....

14 May 2021

Cardboard Cowboys by Brian Conaghan - Teacher Notes

Multi-award-winning author Brian Conaghan’s first book for 10+ readers is a future classic brimming with humour and heart Even though I found him living in a house made of cardboard, Bruce is a massive legend. FACT. So this mine and Bruce’s...

12 May 2021

The Strangeworlds Travel Agency – Teacher Resources and Book Trailer

Escape to new worlds with The Strangeworlds Travel Agency, a magical adventure series for children aged 9+! Hachette Children’s Group have created a teacher resource pack that is bursting with classroom ideas and cross-curricular activities for KS2, comprising themes of travel,...

06 May 2021

Children and Young People's Booklist: Back in Time

May marks Local and Community History Month and we have curated a booklist that brings together all different strands of British history, with a few stories that look further afield too. There is a mix of fiction, non-fiction and poetry,...

28 April 2021

The Usborne Unworry Pack

The Usborne Unworry Pack is a collection of fun, mindful activities to help children and adults UNWORRY. It’s full of things to calm you down and distract you, and places where you can put your worries, instead of letting them...

26 April 2021

Amber Undercover by Em Norry - activity pack

I’m Amber Roberts. Just your average teenager. Life revolves around school and my best mate, Vi. Nothing too dramatic, and certainly nothing dangerous. _Well. That’s how things used to be. But now, my life is way more complicated: Mum and Dad...

25 April 2021

How to be a Hero by Cat Weldon - activity pack

How to be a Hero by Cat Weldon, illustrated by Katie Kear A no-good Viking thief. The worst-ever trainee Valkyrie. A hilarious case of mistaken identity. When failing trainee Valkyrie Lotta mistakes an unconscious Viking thief, Whetstone, for a fallen hero and...

23 April 2021

The Incredible Record Smashers by Jenny Pearson and Erica Salcedo - Assembly and activity sheet

A record-smashing, feel-good adventure packed with heart, humour and Guinness World Records from Costa Award-shortlisted Jenny Pearson, and Kid Normal illustrator Erica Salcedo. Lucy is a fixer of broken things. But there’s one thing she can’t fix and that’s her unhappy...

21 April 2021

Elmer Day 2021 digital pack

Get ready for the most colourful day of the year! Elmer Day returns on Saturday 29 May 2021. Elmer makes the world a much brighter place. So for this year’s Elmer Day celebrations Andersen Press are spreading the positivity of Elmer...

14 April 2021

The Outlaws Scarlett and Browne by Jonathan Stroud - Discussion Guide

England has been radically changed by a series of catastrophes – large cities have disappeared and London has been replaced by a lagoon. The surviving population exists in fortified towns where they cling to traditional ways, while strangely evolved beasts...

08 April 2021

Fing by David Walliams - Digital Activity Pack

Meet the Meeks! Myrtle Meek has everything she could possibly want. But everything isn’t enough. She wants more, more, MORE! When Myrtle declares she wants a FING, there’s only one problem… What is a FING? Mr and Mrs Meek will do anything...

01 April 2021

April 2021 Children's and Young People booklist - Books to Make You Smile

World Book Night is the annual celebration of books and reading on 23 April that brings people from all backgrounds together for one reason – to inspire others to read more. Presented by The Reading Agency, and in partnership with...

26 March 2021

Andersen Press Easter Holiday Fun - activity pack

Andersen Press are continuing their commitment to supporting children and families who will be spending a lot of time at home over the Easter holidays, with a new activity pack featuring resources inspired by new titles. The pack is free...

16 March 2021

Circus Maximus by Annelise Gray - Teaching Resources

Welcome to the great Circus Maximus, the most glorious sporting stage in Ancient Rome, where the best horses and charioteers compete in a race to the death, and one girl dreams of glory. Twelve-year-old Dido dreams of becoming the first female...

16 March 2021

Bumper pack of activity sheets from OUP Childrens

Oxford University Press Children’s Books are helping you spring into reading with a bumper pack of activity sheets and reading notes. These resources include activities based on brilliant titles such as Victioria Stich, Winnie and Wilbur, Roald Dahl, Pippi Longstocking...

15 March 2021

The Supreme Lie by Geraldine McCaughrean - Discussion Questions

Twice Carnegie medal winning Geraldine McCaughrean’s enthralling new novel is set in a world paralysed by natural disaster and dangerous lies. Fifteen-year-old Gloria is maid to Afalia’s tyrannical Head of State, Madame Suprema. When the country is hit by unprecedented flooding,...

11 March 2021

44 Tiny Secrets and 44 Tiny Acrobats by Sylvia Bishop and Ashley King - Teachers' guides and activity

44 Tiny Secrets is the first book in a heartwarming and timeless new series with a brave and spirited heroine, from the acclaimed duo behind The Bookshop Girl. Betsy Bow-Linnet is determined to become a world famous concert pianist like her...

11 March 2021

Mort the Meek by by Rachel DelaHaye - Book trailer and teachers' guide

The first in a wickedly funny new series about an aspiring pacifist in a brutal kingdom! On Brutalia violence is a way of life. Ravenous ravens circle overhead, monstrous grot bears cause chaos and the streets are bulging with brawls. But...

04 March 2021

Protect the Planet by Jess French - Author video

This World Book Day, are you ready to help save our world? In Protect the Planet from DK Books you can discover fascinating facts and practical solutions on what you can do to help solve some of the major problems...

04 March 2021

Protect the Planet by Jess French - Digital pack

This World Book Day, are you ready to help save our world? In Protect the Planet from DK Books you can discover fascinating facts and practical solutions on what you can do to help solve some of the major problems...

04 March 2021

March 2021 Children's and Young People booklist - Wonder Women

March is Women’s History Month, so we have created a booklist to celebrate some of our favourite stories about inspirational girls and women or fantastic books written by them. We hope that you will enjoy reading and discussing these stories...

26 February 2021

Toto the Ninja Cat and the Mystery Jewel Thief - Digital Activity Packs

Toto is no ordinary cat, and she can’t wait for you to join her on her fourth ninja adventure! From one of the UK’s best-loved broadcasters, purrfect for fans of The Aristocats, The Secret Life of Pets and Atticus Claw...

26 February 2021

Climate Action by Georgina Stevens and Katie Rewse - digital pack

The future is in our hands This book by Georgina Stevens explains in detail the different causes and effects of climate change and empowers children and families to think of ways to create change and live a more eco-friendly lifestyle. Full...