Society of Authors Announces 2024 Awards Winners

The Society of Authors today announces the winners for their awards including the ADCI Literary Prize, the Gordon Bowker Volcano Prize and the Queen’s Knickers Award.

Their 31 winners of the awards will be celebrated at tonight’s (20 June) Society of Authors Awards ceremony at Southwark Cathedral sharing a prize fund of over £140,000. The awards are for authors at all stages of their careers, for books of poetry, fiction and non-fiction, across a variety of genres. Find out about the other awards here.

The event will be livestreamed from 7pm. Online attendance is free with RSVP available via this link.

ADCI Literary Prize

Sponsored by Arts Council England, ALCS, the Drusilla Harvey Memorial Fund, and the Professional Writing Academy, the Authors with Disabilities and Chronic Illnesses  (ADCI) Literary Prize is awarded to a disabled or chronically ill writer, for an outstanding novel containing a disabled or chronically ill character or characters. This year’s prize is judged by Nii Ayikwei Parkes, Penny Batchelor, Rowan Hisayo Buchanan, Julia Lund, Karl Knights, Selina Mills, Vikki Patis and Chloe Timms.

The 2024 ADCI Literary Prize Winner is Lorraine Wilson for Mother Sea.

Lorraine Wilson’s Mother Sea is a wonderfully realised, quietly political novel that speaks to some of the most urgent issues of our time – our rampant commercialism, our disregard of ancient wisdoms and the sinister machinations of colonial powers. That none of these things are overt, and the story is one of atmospheric allure and enduring human connection is testament to the author’s skill. We leave Brother Island at the end, but it never leaves us.

ADCI Literary Prize judge Nii Ayikwei Parkes

This year’s runner up is All the Little Bird Hearts by Viktoria Lloyd-Barlow.

Gordon Bowker Volcano Prize

The Gordon Bowker Volcano Prize is awarded to a UK or Irish writer, or a writer currently resident in those countries, for a novel focusing on the experience of travel away from home. In memory of Malcolm Lowry and endowed by Gordon Bowker, his biographer, and Ramdei Bowker. This year’s judges are Aamer Hussein, Yara Rodrigues Fowler and Kerry Young. The total prize fund is £2,750.

The 2024 winner of the Gordon Bowker Volcano Prize is Wild Geese by Soula Emmanuel

Wild Geese starts when Phoebe, a trans Irish woman living in Denmark receives a surprise visit from her kooky ex. Every sentence is a joy. Emmanuel’s prose is second to none – playful, erudite and completely unexpected. Wild Geese makes a powerful, moving case for the pursuit of newness in the world and in life. Not only does Emmanuel convincingly transport the reader to Copenhagen, she reveals to us the possibility at the heart of travel to a new place: that it might show us a different way of living.

Volcano Prize judge Yara Rodrigues Fowler

This year’s runner up is Wandering Souls by Cecile Pin.

Queen’s Knickers Award

Sponsored by its founder Nicholas Allan, the Queen’s Knickers Award is an annual prize for an outstanding children’s original illustrated book for ages 0-7. It recognises books that strike a quirky, new note and grab the attention of a child, whether in the form of curiosity, amusement, horror or excitement. This year’s prize was judged by Salomey Doku, Chris Haughton and Cerrie Burnell.

The 2024 Queen’s Knickers Award Winner is Benjamin Zephaniah and Nila Aye for People Need People

People Need People stood out to us as a book that delivers a truly heartfelt message in a really digestible, friendly and succinct way. We all felt that Benjamin’s words were simple and effective, but also poignant and possessing of a permanent relevance. Paired with Nila’s superbly detailed and diverse illustrations, which encourage children to spend time with each scene and character. This is the kind of book that we could see both children and adults returning to again and again – a book that is uniquely, intentionally, beautifully global in its approach and personality.

Queen’s Knickers Award judge Salomey Doku

This year’s runner up is Yoko Mori for Teddy’s Midnight Adventure.

Get involved

If you work in a library or workplace and would like to promote these titles, you can download a free digital pack from our shop.

What do you think of the 2024 winning titles? Which have you read and what will be added to your TBR pile? Add your comments below, or click any title above to leave a review.

Share your thoughts with us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram using #SoAwards.

Keep up with all the latest news on the Society of Authors’ website.

Want to make sure you never miss the latest reading group news? Sign up for our free monthly newsletter.

The Reading Agency

Join our mailing list

Get our newsletters to stay up to date with programme news, resources, news and more.

Back to Top