Donate now
Tackling life's big challenges through the proven power of reading

Resources

04 March 2021

13 opportunities from our publisher partners for schools and libraries (Read and Review, free virtual author visits and activity packs)

If you have a reading group with children or work in a school or library – we have some fantastic opportunities for you! There are Read and Review opportunities where you have a chance of receiving 10 copies of a...

04 March 2021

Protect the Planet by Jess French - Digital Pack

This World Book Day, are you ready to help save our world? In Protect the Planet from DK Books you can discover fascinating facts and practical solutions on what you can do to help solve some of the major problems...

04 March 2021

March 2021 Children's and Young People booklist - Wonder Women

March is Women’s History Month, so we have created a booklist to celebrate some of our favourite stories about inspirational girls and women or fantastic books written by them. We hope that you will enjoy reading and discussing these stories...

26 February 2021

Toto the Ninja Cat and the Mystery Jewel Thief - Digital Activity Packs

Toto is no ordinary cat, and she can’t wait for you to join her on her fourth ninja adventure! From one of the UK’s best-loved broadcasters, purrfect for fans of The Aristocats, The Secret Life of Pets and Atticus Claw...

26 February 2021

Climate Action by Georgina Stevens and Katie Rewse - digital pack

The future is in our hands This book by Georgina Stevens explains in detail the different causes and effects of climate change and empowers children and families to think of ways to create change and live a more eco-friendly lifestyle. Full...

26 February 2021

Partnership form Reading Well collections

This form is intended for completion by libraries that have lent out Reading Well book collections to local partners. These partners may include schools, community hubs, prison library services, workplaces or other relevant community organisations.

25 February 2021

Klara and the Sun and Ishiguro backlist promotional pack

Celebrate the publication of Klara and the Sun, the new book from the Booker and Nobel Prize-winning author, Kazuo Ishiguro. This pack contains: • A selection of digital assets, including a stunning animation and social cards featuring quotes from librarians and readers,...

25 February 2021

Celebrating Kazuo Ishiguro: syndicated blog post

Add this syndicated blog post to your website to celebrate the impact Kazuo Ishiguro’s books have had on readers and librarians over the past thirty years. Kazuo Ishiguro’s latest book, Klara and the Sun, is published by Faber on 2 March...

25 February 2021

Children of the Benin Kingdom - Reading Notes and Activities

Ada has lived close to the great rainforest for her whole life, helping her beloved Papa Eze to heal fellow villagers when they fall sick. But when Papa Eze himself becomes unwell he knows it s time to reveal to...

25 February 2021

Fantastically Great Women: Scientists and Their Stories - Digital Activity Pack and Teachers' Notes

Bloomsbury Children’s Books would love to join you in celebrating International Women’s Day and/or International Science Week with a special offer for libraries nationwide! Prepare to be inspired with this fantastically great new series for young readers by the brilliant Kate...

25 February 2021

What Did the Tree See? by Charlotte Guillain and illustrated by Sam Usher – Teacher Resource Pack

One majestic oak has seen it all, and now we can too. “Simple rhyming text matched by beautiful and carefully detailed illustrations offer a delightful history lesson” – Julia Eccleshare, LoveReading4Kids Told in gentle rhyming verse, this beautiful non-fiction picture book follows...

25 February 2021

Become a Reading Spy with Maz Evans’s VI SPY: LICENCE TO CHILL – digital activity resources

To celebrate the arrival of Maz Evans’s VI SPY: LICENCE TO CHILL, the new novel from the author of the bestselling WHO LET THE GODS OUT series, we’ve put together a whole host of VI SPY-themed educational materials – and...

24 February 2021

Oxford Children's Books - Easter themed activity pack

Oxford University Press have created a bundle of Easter themed digital activity sheets containing colouring sheets, arts and crafts, a dress-up doll, a trace and find maze and more! Ballet Bunnies Named as ‘A must for small ballet fans’ by the Guardian,...

24 February 2021

Peppa Loves Reading - Digital Activity Pack

Celebrating the launch of the new book, Peppa Loves Reading, Ladybird is pleased to provide an exciting and engaging resource pack for librarians. With everything little ones love including Peppa puzzles, colouring and drawing, the pack will keep little ones...

23 February 2021

Look Out, Leonard! Activity Sheet

It’s moving day for the Shrew family, so Mrs. Shrew has asked them to all hold on to each other’s tails tightly so that nobody gets lost! They set off in a long line, but wait, where’s little Leonard? Download...

16 February 2021

List of all previous World Book Night titles

This is a list of all books that have been on the World Book Night booklists since 2011. You can use this list to help celebrate the 10th anniversary of World Book Night.

15 February 2021

Organisations Toolkit

Find out how you can celebrate World Book Night at home and online. Whether you wanted to get involved on your own, or are part of an organisation this guide will help you play your part in this nationwide celebration...

15 February 2021

Library Toolkit

Find out how your library can celebrate World Book Night. This includes tips on using the booklist, running your own events, and working with your local community. This guide will help you play your part in this nationwide celebration of...

08 February 2021

The Forest of Moon and Sword by Amy Raphael and August Ro - Teachers' Resources

One girl’s fierce journey to save her mother from the fate of the witch trials, with only nature to guide her way. 1647, twelve-year-old Art lives in a small village in Scotland. Her mother has always made potions that cure the...

04 February 2021

February 2021 Children's and Young People booklist - Express Yourself (Children's Mental Health Week)

Place2Be launched the first ever Children’s Mental Health Week in 2015 to shine a spotlight on the importance of children and young people’s mental health. This year’s theme is Express Yourself as expressing yourself is about finding ways to share...

29 January 2021

Read, Talk, Share Comms Toolkit

This toolkit includes information and resources, including visual assets, to help promote the Read, Talk, Share campaign.

28 January 2021

Proud of Me by Sarah Hagger-Holt - Discussion Questions

An accessible child-centred story about self-acceptance and the importance of opening up to those closest to you. Becky and Josh are almost-twins, with two mums and the same anonymous donor dad. Josh can’t wait until he’s eighteen, the legal age when...

19 January 2021

Bloomsbury announces changes to Harry Potter Book Night 2021

In light of UK restrictions and school closures, Bloomsbury announces changes to Harry Potter Book Night 2021. • Physical events along with key Bloomsbury digital activity to move to Thursday 24th June 2021 • Bloomsbury to provide free digital activities for teachers and...

15 January 2021

The Shark Caller by Zillah Bethell - Resource pack for KS2 Teachers

“I want to be able to call the sharks. Teach me the magic and show me the ways.” Blue Wing is desperate to become a shark caller, but instead she must befriend infuriating newcomer Maple, who arrives unexpectedly on Blue Wing’s...

07 January 2021

How to be a Hero by Cat Weldon - activity pack

How to be a Hero by Cat Weldon, illustrated by Katie Kear A no-good Viking thief. The worst-ever trainee Valkyrie. A hilarious case of mistaken identity. When failing trainee Valkyrie Lotta mistakes an unconscious Viking thief, Whetstone, for a fallen hero and...

07 January 2021

January 2021 Children's and Young People booklist - Something New

As we enter a new year and find ourselves in lockdown, we wanted the first booklist of the year for children and young people to focus on books that we hope will inspire them to learn a new skill, support...

05 January 2021

Roald & Beatrix: The Tail of the Curious Mouse activity

Lovers of children’s classics are in for a treat with the new film Roald & Beatrix: The Tail of the Curious Mouse, and we have a fun activity resource for families to use to accompany their discussions. Roald and Beatrix,...

18 December 2020

Hope Jones Will Not Eat Meat by Josh Lacey - activity sheets

Hope Jones Will Not Eat Meat by Josh Lacey is the latest book in an inspiring new illustrated fiction series about environmental issues, perfect for readers aged 8+. The books are told in a fun blog format, documenting Hope’s activism...

18 December 2020

December 2020 Children's and Young People booklist - Winter Wonderland

As we head into the grey and cold, we thought that we would share some great books set during the Winter or set in beautiful winter wonderlands. We have some classics, lovely illustrated stories and some thrilling page-turners. You can...

09 December 2020

Schools Get Involved Guide for Reading Well in Wales

A guide for schools in Wales who want to get involved with Reading Well