This Book Kills bookcover

This Book Kills

Ravena Guron

Find your local library.
Buy this book from Bookshop.org or hive.co.uk to support The Reading Agency and local bookshops at no additional cost to you.

“At once fun, twisty and insightful, This Book Kills is a gripping murder mystery that will keep you on the edge of your seat.” Adiba Jaigirdar, YA Book Prize winning author of Hani and Ishu’s Guide to Fake Dating

There’s a murderer on the loose in an elite boarding school… But who is going to be next? This Book Kills is the YA thriller of 2023, perfect for fans of Holly Jackson and Karen McManus.

“I’ll make it clear from the start: I did not kill Hugh Henry Van Boren. I didn’t even help. Well, not intentionally.”

When Hugh Henry Van Boren, one of the most popular and richest kids in Jess Choudhary’s school, is found dead, the student body is left reeling and wondering who the murderer could be… Jess, a student under strict instructions to keep her record clean or risk losing her scholarship, finds herself at the centre of the investigation when it’s revealed that Hugh died in the exact same way as a character in a short story she wrote.

And then Jess receives an anonymous text thanking her for the inspiration.

With time running out, Jess knows if she doesn’t solve this mystery she’ll finally have something in common with Hugh Henry.

She’ll be dead too.

Latest reviews

This book is really interesting because it gives very mysterious thoughts and suspicions about the different characters and makes us think who is the killer in the story and who will die next.

Loved the story, the characters were believable. I fell for the red herring and was sure the murderer was someone who it was not. The book certainly keeps you reading to the end I was desperate to find out who the murderer was. Jess was a very convincing character worried about her place in school and concerned her mum would have made the sacrifices in vain to fund her place. I would really recommend this book to Y9+

I read the paperback edition of this novel. It was a twisty murder mystery that kept me guessing.

This book gripped me instantly, from the moment I saw the title. It is set in a boarding school and the protagonist (Jess) writes a wacky murder story for one of her classes. When a murder happens at her school, Jess is shocked to find out that it happened in the same way she wrote in her story. She is confused at first but then channels her curiosity into a investigation. As a reader, I enjoyed playing detective with her as there were some unexpected twists along the way (especially the outcome)! I would definitely recommend.

The Reading Agency

Join our mailing list

Get our newsletters to stay up to date with programme news, resources, news and more.

Back to Top