The Amazing Edie Eckhart: The Big Trip: (Book 2) World Book Day 2024 author bookcover

The Amazing Edie Eckhart: The Big Trip: (Book 2) World Book Day 2024 author

Rosie Jones, Natalie Smillie

From TV comedian Rosie Jones comes a sparky and HILARIOUS series for readers aged 9+. Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson and DORK DIARIES.

‘Fresh, funny and ultra cool’ – Jacqueline Wilson

Hi! I’m Edie Eckhart. I’m a little bit different. I have a disability called cerebral palsy, so I talk slowly and fall over a lot. It’s never really bothered me because I’ve never known anything else.

This term, Edie Eckhart has A LOT on her mind:

‘Why am I the only one who doesn’t know what to be when I grow up? Why am I the only one worried about going on the school drama trip? And why am I the only one who thinks eating 21 Brussels sprouts at once is YUMMY?’

Life’s confusing questions are making Edie wonder if she REALLY knows who she REALLY is. Will Edie realise it’s OK not to have ALL the answers ALL of the time … and just BE EDIE?

Latest reviews

A charming book with strong disabled role models. The story explores friendships and representation with candour. A great read for Upper KS1 and KS2 children, especially those who love taking part in drama classes

I absolutely loved it

i didnt really like it was not my genre of books

I think this is a very fun and entertaining book and I liked it very much. My favourite character is probably Edie's mum because she is very much like my own. This is a fiction book. I would recommend this to everyone

This was a funny fictional story and my favourite character was Edie.

Absolutely superb!!! If you’ve read the first one, you’ll know that it celebrates diversity, family and love, with the perfect addition of comedy. I never wanted it to finish, and it was so amazingly realistic I dreamt about it!

This is the second Edie Eckhart book and I enjoyed it as much as the first. It was so good but I really didn’t like the horrible Mrs Hargreaves! I would recommend this and the first book.

the overall book was great but there was a few buts i really disliked: The whole boyfriend/girlfriend thing particularly. In the end I almost gave up. I would not agree that its worth the read as I feel that it is a bit strong in its opinions but maybe its just me.

I liked the personality of Edie!

My favourite character is Flora because she is really kind and supportive to Eddie, she is an amazing friend to have. Eddie has celebral palsy.I would recommend this book to everyone, especially people who are born unique.

I think she should just be herself I do think this is fiction I like Edie I would recommend it to someone here

It was very interesting and exciting to read, especially the strict teacher

The Reading Agency

Join our mailing list

Get our newsletters to stay up to date with programme news, resources, news and more.

Back to Top