Donate now
Tackling life's big challenges through the proven power of reading

Resources

18 June 2021

THE FATHER film discussion guide

In THE FATHER, Hopkins plays the eponymous role of a mischievous and highly independent man who, as he ages, refuses all assistance from his daughter Anne (Olivia Colman). Yet, such help has become essential following Anne’s decision to move to...

04 June 2021

Refugee Week Booklist

Refugee Week is 14-20 June 2021. We have worked with our publisher partners to create a booklist to help children, young people and adults understand the realities refugees around the world face, and sympathise with their experiences. The list contains...

01 June 2021

Read with Pride - Summer of Reading List 2021 A3 poster

The second Paper & Hearts Society adventure. Join Olivia and The Paper & Hearts Society gang in this joyful comfort read and celebration of books from Booktuber Lucy Powrie. The perfect book for fans of Alice Oseman, Holly Smale and...

17 May 2021

Adult July Booklist: Nature and Wildlife

Nature and wildlife have been a respite for many over the past year. This booklist includes a mixture of fiction, memoir, poetry and non-fiction, covering the restorative powers of swimming and gardening, the history of our relationship with sheep, animals...

17 May 2021

Adult June Booklist: Around the World

This month we’re celebrating books from around the world – those which immerse us into a different landscape, culture or community. There are books that take us from Burma to Alabama, Trinidad to Italy, translated from Hebrew, Russian, Japanese and...

13 May 2021

Quick Reads 2021 Discussion Guides

Use these reader and discussion guides in book groups, Reading Ahead sessions or literacy classes to spark conversation about the six 2021 Quick Reads.

06 May 2021

When We Cease to Understand the World – International Booker Prize 2021 Discussion Guide

Download this discussion guide for When We Cease to Understand the World by Benjamín Labatut, translated by Adrian Nathan West, shortlisted for the International Booker Prize 2021. See the full International Booker Prize shortlist.

06 May 2021

The War of the Poor – International Booker Prize 2021 Discussion Guide

Download this discussion guide for The War of the Poor by Éric Vuillard, translated by Mark Polizzotti, shortlisted for the International Booker Prize 2021. See the full International Booker Prize shortlist.

06 May 2021

The Employees – International Booker Prize 2021 Discussion Guide

Download this discussion guide for The Employees by Olga Ravn, translated by Martin Aitken, shortlisted for the International Booker Prize 2021. See the full International Booker Prize shortlist.

06 May 2021

The Dangers of Smoking in Bed – International Booker Prize 2021 Discussion Guide

Download this discussion guide for The Dangers of Smoking in Bed by Mariana Enríquez, translated by Megan McDowell, shortlisted for the International Booker Prize 2021. See the full International Booker Prize shortlist.

06 May 2021

In Memory of Memory – International Booker Prize 2021 Discussion Guide

Download this discussion guide for In Memory of Memory by Maria Stepanova, translated by Sasha Dugdale, shortlisted for the International Booker Prize 2021. See the full International Booker Prize shortlist.

06 May 2021

At Night All Blood Is Black - International Booker Prize 2021 Discussion Guide

Download this discussion guide for At Night All Blood Is Black by David Diop, translated by Anna Moschovakis, shortlisted for the International Booker Prize 2021. See the full International Booker Prize shortlist.

06 May 2021

Adult May Booklist - Back in Time

May marks Local and Community History Month and we have curated a booklist that brings together all different strands of British history, from the 1590s to the 1980s. There is a mix of fiction and non-fiction, with something for every...

28 April 2021

Unsettled Ground – Women's Prize for Fiction Reading Guide

Download this reading guide, produced by the Women’s Prize for Fiction, for Unsettled Ground by Claire Fuller, shortlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction 2021.

28 April 2021

Transcendent Kingdom - Women's Prize for Fiction

Download this reading guide, produced by the Women’s Prize for Fiction, for Transcendent Kingdom by Yaa Gyasi, shortlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction 2021.

28 April 2021

The Vanishing Half – Women's Prize for Fiction Reading Guide

Download this reading guide, produced by the Women’s Prize for Fiction, for The Vanishing Half by Brit Bennett, shortlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction 2021.

28 April 2021

Piranesi - Women's Prize for Fiction Reading Guide

Download this reading guide, produced by the Women’s Prize for Fiction, for Piranesi by Susanna Clarke, shortlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction 2021.

28 April 2021

No One Is Talking About This - Women's Prize for Fiction Reading Guide

Download this reading guide, produced by the Women’s Prize for Fiction, for No One Is Talking About This by Patricia Lockwood, shortlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction 2021.

28 April 2021

How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House – Women's Prize for Fiction Reading Guide

Download this reading guide, produced by the Women’s Prize for Fiction, for How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House by Cherie Jones, shortlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction 2021.

13 April 2021

The Black Friend by Frederick Joseph - Discussion Guide

Speaking directly to the reader, Frederick Joseph offers powerful reflections on his own experiences with racism in The Black Friend: On Being a Better White Person. As a former “token Black kid”, he now presents himself as the friend...

08 April 2021

The Strawberry Thief Reading Group Guide

If you are reading The Strawberry Thief as part of a reading group, here are some questions and resources to help get you started created by the author Joanne Harris. Warning: questions may contain spoilers!

25 February 2021

Klara and the Sun and Ishiguro backlist promotional pack

Celebrate the publication of Klara and the Sun, the new book from the Booker and Nobel Prize-winning author, Kazuo Ishiguro. This pack contains: • A selection of digital assets, including a stunning animation and social cards featuring quotes from librarians and readers,...

25 February 2021

Celebrating Kazuo Ishiguro: syndicated blog post

Add this syndicated blog post to your website to celebrate the impact Kazuo Ishiguro’s books have had on readers and librarians over the past thirty years. Kazuo Ishiguro’s latest book, Klara and the Sun, is published by Faber on 2 March...

23 February 2021

Not Quite Nice by Celia Imrie reading guide

Use this reading guide for Not Quite Nice by Celia Imrie to compliment your reading group discussion. About Not Quite Nice Sunday Times Bestseller Theresa is desperate for a change. Forced into early retirement, tired of babysitting her bossy daughter’s obnoxious children,...

23 February 2021

Piranesi by Susanne Clarke reading guide

Use this reading guide for Piranesi by Susanne Clarke to compliment your reading group discussion. About Piranesi Piranesi lives in the House. Perhaps he always has. In his notebooks, day after day, he makes a clear and careful record of its wonders:...

23 February 2021

Bloomsbury's Read, Talk, Share booklist

Bloomsbury has created a booklist for libraries and other organisations participating in The Reading Agency’s Read, Talk, Share campaign. The list can be used by people looking for books tackling loneliness, isolation, mental health issues, and maintaining human connection during...

11 December 2020

Promotional digital assets for MI9 by Dr Helen Fry

Download social media assets, including shareable cards with information on the book and an author video to promote MI9 by Dr Helen Fry in your library. You can also find an extract from the book about the invention of ‘Q-gadgets’, popularised...

26 October 2020

Reading Guide for The Secret Garden

The Secret Garden, a Sky original tells the story of Mary Lennox (Dixie Egerickx – Genius, The Little Stranger), a 10-year-old girl sent to live with her uncle Archibald Craven (Colin Firth), under the watchful eye of Mrs. Medlock (Julie...

15 October 2020

Social media assets for Lowborn by Kerry Hudson + creative writing guide

Download this free digital pack containing ready-to-use social media assets, an extract from the book and a guide to creative writing written by the author, Kerry Hudson.

12 October 2020

The Reading Agency's toolkit for hosting online events

As events continue to move to online formats, we have created a toolkit to support libraries and other organisations to host their own author Q&As, panel discussions and readings. If you have any questions or would like further information and support,...