Resources

Sign up » Sign up to the Chatterbooks network and the monthly newsletter

Latest offers » Offers and competitions from children’s publishers

More info » Find out more about Chatterbooks reading clubs for children

Buy Chatterbooks materials » Schools’ starter packs – welcome packs for children and group leaders’ toolkits

18 September 2017

A Place Called Perfect Specs competition

A Place Called Perfect A quirky, creepy, and unforgettable adventure, perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Neil Gaiman and Tim Burton. To celebrate the release of this brilliant debut by Helena Duggan, Usborne have a competition for school and libraries...

18 September 2017

Dragon's Green competition - Draw your own magical object

Dragon’s Green Beat the back-to-school blues by winning a £30 National Book Tokens card and a signed book! Dragon’s Green is the first book in the Worldquake sequence, a trilogy of books all about magic and adventure! In Dragon’s Green,...

18 September 2017

The Rose Muddle Mysteries - local history activity and competition

The Rose Muddle Mysteries The Rose Muddle Mysteries series by Imogen White is inspired by a real-life historical artefact called the Hove Amber Cup. Many years ago, the cup was found beneath an enormous burial mound which once stood in the...

18 September 2017

Witch for a Week - spellbinding potion competition

Witch for a Week A new magical adventure from Kaye Umansky, the bestselling author of the much loved children’s classic Pongwiffy, brought to life with charming illustrations from Ashley King! To celebrate the start of this spellbinding new series, Simon & Schuster...

15 September 2017

Owl Babies activity packs

Walker Books have a brilliant pack filled with activities. Owl Babies A gentle tale of three baby owls reassures young children that Mummy will always come home. A gentle tale of three baby owls reassures young children that Mummy will always come...

11 September 2017

Jake in Space activity sheets - Teacher notes answers

Jake in Space is a series of sci-fi adventure stories for kids. It’s full of action and suspense, plus a little bit of weird stuff. Jake lives in the future. His home base is a space station on Earth but he travels...

11 September 2017

Jake in Space activity sheets

Jake in Space is a series of sci-fi adventure stories for kids. It’s full of action and suspense, plus a little bit of weird stuff. Jake lives in the future. His home base is a space station on Earth but he travels...

11 September 2017

Chatterbooks FAQs

A list of frequently asked questions and answers about Chatterbooks Children’s Reading Clubs.

10 September 2017

Dragon's Green - Teacher Resource

Dragon’s Green Dragon’s Green is the first book in the Worldquake sequence, a trilogy of books all about magic and adventure! In Dragon’s Green, Effie and her friends seem to be normal schoolchildren but when they discover their hidden Otherworld...

04 September 2017

Poetry Chatterbooks Activity Pack 2017

To celebrate National Poetry Day on 28 September, we’ve collaborated with the Forward Arts Foundation to create a new Poetry Chatterbooks Activity Pack. National Poetry Day is an initiative of the Forward Arts Foundation, a charity that celebrates excellence in...

04 September 2017

Royal Society Young People's Book Prize Chatterbooks Pack

The Royal Society Young People’s Book Prize aims to inspire young people to read about science and promotes the writing of excellent, accessible books for under-14s. We have created a Chatterbooks Pack featuring this year’s shortlisted titles. There are plenty...

22 August 2017

Owl Babies 25th Anniversary book trailer

A trailer for OWL BABIES, the 25th anniversary edition of the classic bedtime picture book from Martin Waddell and Patrick Benson. On a tree in the woods, three baby owls, Sarah and Percy and Bill, sit and think and wait for...

22 August 2017

7 Questions for Paul Whitfield

Paul Whitfield, creator of PIRATE MCSNOTTBEARD answers seven pressing questions about his new book series for children. WARNING: THIS VIDEO MAY CONTAIN MULTIPLE PARROTS. It’s perfect for sharing with your class or reading group! About Pirate McSnottbeard in the Zombie Terror Rampage Before...

17 August 2017

They Came from Planet Zabalooloo! book trailer

Watch out, planet Earth! Zoron, Bazoo and Zob have come from Zabalooloo. They’ve got a supersonic-sucker with shrinker nozzle … and they are ready for an EPIC adventure! Share the trailer for THEY CAME FROM PLANET ZABALOOLOO, the new picture book...

16 July 2017

Children's University

Find out how children can earn Children’s University hours by taking part in the Summer Reading Challenge and Chatterbooks groups.

07 July 2017

5 Questions for author Alison Croggon - video

Walker Books asked Alison Croggon, author of the bestselling Books of Pellinor series, five questions, including why she chose to return to the world of Pellinor in her prequel novel, The Bone Queen. Watch the video to find out more...

07 July 2017

Pink Lion book trailer

Arnold blends right in with his bright pink flamingo family. Then a growling gang of lions stops by and tells Arnold he should be more lion-like, just like them. Share the trailer for Pink Lion, a bold and colourful picture book...

07 July 2017

Ellie and Lump activity sheets

Download these fun Ellie and Lump activity sheets to share with your Chatterbooks group or in class. This download includes a maze and drawing activity.

07 July 2017

King of the Sky activity sheets

Download these beautifully illustrated activity sheets inspired by King of the Sky to share with your Chatterbooks group or in class

07 July 2017

Mrs Mole, I'm Home activity sheets

Download these fun activity sheets inspired by Mrs Mole, I’m Home! to share with your Chatterbooks group

03 July 2017

Animal Agents Chatterbooks Activity Pack

Here is a Chatterbooks activity pack to accompany this year’s Summer Reading Challenge, Animal Agents. It features some of the fabulous books in this year’s Summer Reading Challenge collection.

05 June 2017

Never Say Die book trailer

Alex Rider is back in this brand new, explosive mission in the number one bestselling series. In this adrenaline-fueled, action-packed adventure, Alex Rider is trying to get his life back on track after the traumatic events of his last mission. But even...

01 June 2017

Chris Riddell Chatterbooks Activity Pack

Chris Riddell is a prolific author and illustrator whose huge range of award winning work covers picture books and fiction for older children. He was appointed Children’s Laureate for the period of 2015-2017. Find out more about Chris and his...

23 May 2017

We're Going on a Bear Hunt book trailer

If you loved the film of We’re Going on a Bear Hunt on Channel 4 at Christmas, now you can explore your natural world with these two brand new We’re Going on a Bear Hunt activity books!

23 May 2017

King of the Sky - Teachers' notes

Download these teachers’ notes for King of the Sky by Nicola Davies and Laura Carlin to use with your class or Chatterbooks group.

23 May 2017

How to be a Scientist - Lesson plans

Discover the skills it takes to become a scientist in DK’s new science book for kids with science presenter and comedian Steve Mould. Being a scientist isn’t just about wearing a lab coat and performing science experiments in test tubes....

04 May 2017

Coding Skills Chatterbooks Activity Pack

This Chatterbooks activity pack highlights four great titles including a series package of four books about coding from our Children’s Reading Partners publisher partner QED Publishing, written by computer expert Max Wainewright.

10 April 2017

Supertato activity sheets

Download these Supertato activity sheets for your Chatterbooks group. This bundle includes a colouring sheet and spot the difference puzzle

10 April 2017

The Royal Rabbits of London video trailer

Shylo has always been the weakest and quietest of all his family and his siblings spend their days making fun of him. But when he stumbles across a band of rats and overhears a diabolical plot against the Queen, it’s...

10 April 2017

Gordon's Great Escape video trailer

Gordon isn’t any old balloon. He’s up and off on a trip around the world! His adventures lead him far and wide. But will he survive without going BANG! Gordon’s Great Escape is an exciting picture book from the bestselling, award...