Donate now
Tackling life's big challenges through the proven power of reading

Resources

Sign up » Sign up to the Chatterbooks network and the monthly newsletter

Latest offers » Offers and competitions from children’s publishers

More info » Find out more about Chatterbooks reading clubs for children

Buy Chatterbooks materials » Schools’ starter packs – welcome packs for children and group leaders’ toolkits

23 September 2020

Celebrate National Poetry Day with a Zombierella digital pack from Walker Books

Walker Books would love to join you in celebrating National Poetry Day a special offer for libraries nationwide. And she died happily ever after… Crawl out of the grave and step into your mushroom carriage for Zombierella: Fairytales Gone Bad, the first...

03 September 2020

International Dot Day - Special Event Packs

Celebrate International Dot Day on 15th-ish September! International Dot Day, a global celebration of creativity, courage and collaboration, began when teacher Terry Shay introduced his classroom to Peter H. Reynolds’ book The Dot on September 15, 2009. Now, every 15-ish September,...

24 August 2020

How to draw Mossy the Fox with David Roberts

David Roberts, illustrator of Julian Clary’s Bolds books, shows us how he draws Mossy the fox. The Bold family seems fairly normal: they live in a nice house, the parents have good jobs, and they all love to have fun. One...

20 August 2020

Molly Mischief: My Perfect Pet

Molly Mischief: My Perfect Pet by Adam Hargreaves is a Summer Reading Challenge 2020 recommended read! This resource includes fun colouring sheets and puzzles to enjoy. Visit the Pavilion website for more great titles and resources.

18 August 2020

InvestiGators by John Patrick Green - activity pack

They’re Alligators – and Investigators! InvestiGators written and illustrated by John Patrick Green is the new full colour, laugh-out-loud series perfect for emerging readers and fans of Dav Pilkey’s Dog Man. Mango and Brash are the InvestiGators: sewer-loving agents of...

18 August 2020

Bug Belly Creator Study

Bug Belly: Babysitting Trouble by Paul Morton is a Summer Reading Challenge 2020 recommended read! This resource includes a special look into Paul Morton’s process for writing and illustrating Bug Belly. Featuring fun facts and behind-the-scenes sketches, it’s ideal for...

18 August 2020

Wonderful Non-fiction Chatterbooks Pack

In this Chatterbooks activity pack you’ll find some great suggestions for wonderful non-fiction books to explore, read and enjoy together. Inspired by Merry the Giraffe from the Summer Reading Challenge’s Silly Squad, this pack will focus on her favourite things,...

10 August 2020

When Secrets Set Sail – Blue Plaque Project

When Secrets Set Sail is the breathtaking new adventure from award-winning author Sita Brahmachari. Set in London, adoptive sisters Usha and Imtiaz must race to uncover the secrets of their family’s past, in order to save their home. In the story,...

10 August 2020

Mermaid School - Telling Tails writing activity

Marnie Blue’s class at Lady Sealia Foam’s Mermaid School are holding a cake sale to raise money for their school trip to the Mermaid Lagoon castle. Aunt Christabel says she’ll help Marnie, Pearl and Orla to bake some special treats...

10 August 2020

Mermaid School - Create your own radio station activity sheet

In the Mermaid School books, Christabel Blue is a very successful DJ, with her own Big Blue Show on Radio SeaWave. In the activity sheet children can imagine they have their own show on mermaid radio. Filled with fabulous fishy fun, the...

30 July 2020

Keith Among the Pigeons Activity Pack

Keith Among the Pigeons by Katie Brosnan is a Summer Reading Challenge 2020 recommended read! This Keith Among the Pigeons pack includes a cat and pigeon masks, colouring sheets, puzzles and more activities to enjoy at home, in the library,...

28 July 2020

Tricks and Jokes Chatterbooks Activity Pack

In this Chatterbooks activity pack you’ll find some great suggestions for funny books to explore, read and enjoy together. Inspired by Lily the Frog from the Summer Reading Challenge’s Silly Squad, this pack will focus on her favourite things, jokes...

22 July 2020

Dog Diaries Activity Sheets

Dog Diaries: Mission Impawsible by Steven Butler and James Patterson, with illustrations by Richard Watson, is a Summer Reading Challenge 2020 recommended read! This Dog Diaries activity pack includes wordsearches, puzzles, spot the difference and more! Find out more on the...

20 July 2020

Kevin's Great Escape: Comic Making Tips

Learn everything you need to know to make your own comics with these tips from Sarah McIntyre. Kevin’s Great Escape: A Roly-Poly Flying Pony Adventure by Philip Reeve and Sarah McIntyre is a Summer Reading Challenge 2020 recommended read! Find out...

20 July 2020

Kevin's Great Escape: Learn to draw Max

Keep Kevin company by learning to draw his best friend, Max, with a step-by-step guide from Sarah McIntyre. Kevin’s Great Escape: A Roly-Poly Flying Pony Adventure by Philip Reeve and Sarah McIntyre is a Summer Reading Challenge 2020 recommended read! Find...

20 July 2020

Kevin's Great Escape: Learn to draw Daisy

Learn how to draw Max’s goth sister, Daisy (aka Elvira!) with a step-by-step guide from Sarah McIntyre. Kevin’s Great Escape: A Roly-Poly Flying Pony Adventure by Philip Reeve and Sarah McIntyre is a Summer Reading Challenge 2020 recommended read! Find out...

20 July 2020

Kevin's Great Escape: Learn to draw Kevin

Sketch a roly-poly flying pony of your own with this step-by-step guide from Sarah McIntyre. Kevin’s Great Escape: A Roly-Poly Flying Pony Adventure by Philip Reeve and Sarah McIntyre is a Summer Reading Challenge 2020 recommended read! Find out more on...

20 July 2020

Kevin's Great Escape: Create a legendary pet drawing activity

Kevin is an ABSOLUTE LEGEND. Have a go at creating your own legendary pet! Kevin’s Great Escape: A Roly-Poly Flying Pony Adventure by Philip Reeve and Sarah McIntyre is a Summer Reading Challenge 2020 recommended read! Find out more on...

20 July 2020

Kevin's Great Escape: Ordinary Legend Quiz

Take Reeve and McIntyre’s quiz to find out what kind of legend YOU are! Kevin’s Great Escape: A Roly-Poly Flying Pony Adventure by Philip Reeve and Sarah McIntyre is a Summer Reading Challenge 2020 recommended read! Find out more on the...

20 July 2020

Kevin's Great Escape: Cardigan Faun Colouring Sheet

Design some fabulous knitwear for the super-stylish Cardigan Faun. Kevin’s Great Escape: A Roly-Poly Flying Pony Adventure by Philip Reeve and Sarah McIntyre is a Summer Reading Challenge 2020 recommended read! Find out more on the Summer Reading Challenge website. Visit the...

20 July 2020

Attack of the Heebie Jeebies by Tom Percival - Chapter 2 Discussion Notes

Meet the Dream Team! Turning nightmares into incredible adventures! Erika’s had a bad day. But going to sleep upset means bad dreams. She finds herself stranded in the Dreamscape along with a mob of hungry Heebie Jeebies – and to make...

20 July 2020

Attack of the Heebie Jeebies by Tom Percival - Chapter 1 Discussion Notes

Attack of the Heebie Jeebies is the first in a fun and engaging series from Tom Percival, the Carnegie nominated author and illustrator. This series explores anxiety in children through action and adventure. Erika’s had a bad day. But going to...

16 July 2020

Parentkind and The Reading Agency - Reading as a Family: Top tips for reading together resources

Reading for pleasure delivers enormous benefits for children of all ages. It builds reading and literacy confidence as well as influencing children’s health and wellbeing, future academic achievement and adult life chances. Evidence shows that families can play a key...

09 July 2020

Draw with Rob Biddulph activity pack

The viral phenomenon #DrawWithRob is now a brand-new activity book to help you to draw at home with creative genius and official World Book Day illustrator Rob Biddulph! You may have spotted Rob’s brilliant drawalong videos on YouTube, Facebook, TikTok or...

02 July 2020

The Kid Who Came From Space by Ross Welford - Teachers' Notes

The stunning new 10+ story from the bestselling and award-winning author of TIME TRAVELLING WITH A HAMSTER, for anyone who loved the humour of WALL-E, the action of STAR WARS and the deeply touching emotion of ET. A small village in...

30 June 2020

Winterborne Home for Vengeance and Valour by Ally Carter - digital pack

FIVE EXTRAORDINARY ORPHANS. ONE INCREDIBLE MYSTERY. Bursting with adventure, mayhem and friendship, this is the first in an action-packed new middle-grade series – from the bestselling author of Gallagher Girls, Ally Carter – and the perfect book for readers who love...

23 June 2020

Stay-at-home with Football School - writing competition

A shout out to all sports fans aged 7-12! Do you dream of becoming a sportswriter, commentator or sports presenter in the future? Then this competition could help you reach your goal! The Guardian has teamed up with the...

12 June 2020

Boys and Kids Who Dare to be Different - activity packs, audio extracts and journal

Stories for Boys who Dare to be Different is a beautiful and inspiring collection of stories about boys who changed the world without killing a single dragon or saving a single princess. Stories for Kids who Dare to be Different...

12 June 2020

Starfell by Dominique Valente and Sarah Warburton - Digital Activity Pack

Step into the magical world of Starfell in the most spellbinding children’s fantasy series of the year! With beautiful illustrations by Sarah Warburton, Dominique Valente’s Starfell is perfect for fans of Cressida Cowell and Nevermoor. Willow Moss, the youngest and least...

04 June 2020

Kiran Millwood Hargrave reading notes, videos and activities

Kiran Millwood Hargrave is the author of three Chicken House novels – The Girl of Ink & Stars, The Island at the End of Everything and The Way Past Winter. Between them, her children’s books have won numerous awards including...