Donate now
Tackling life's big challenges through the proven power of reading

Resources

Sign up » Sign up to the Chatterbooks network and the monthly newsletter

Latest offers » Offers and competitions from children’s publishers

More info » Find out more about Chatterbooks reading clubs for children

Buy Chatterbooks materials » Schools’ starter packs – welcome packs for children and group leaders’ toolkits

09 December 2019

The Reading Agency Books 2019 - Children and young people booklist

Every year, the staff at The Reading Agency enjoy picking and sharing our favourite books for children and young people. We have three booklists of the books we have loved the most from 2019: picture and illustrated books, books for...

26 September 2019

October 2019 Children's and Young People booklist - Powerful Poetry

To help you celebrate National Poetry Day on 3 October, we have created a booklist of our favourite works of poetry for children and young people. There are classics as well as newly published books – all selected to help...

19 September 2019

Plastic Sucks! You Can Make A Difference - Plastic Sucks Day Guide

How can YOU help save our planet? This awesome and inspiring guide, written by McFly bassist and environmental activist Dougie Poynter, will show you how to get involved in the mission to cut out single-use plastic. Plastic is everywhere and it...

18 September 2019

Beverley, Right Here by Kate DiCamillo - Teacher's Notes

Revisiting once again the world of Raymie Nightingale, two-time Newbery Medalist Kate DiCamillo turns her focus to the tough-talking, inescapably tenderhearted Beverly. _Beverly put her foot down on the gas. They went faster still. This was what Beverly wanted — what she...

06 August 2019

September 2019 Children's and Young People booklist - Back to School Books

Our September booklist for children and young people is a selection of our favourite books either set in a school or about starting a new academic year. It includes picture books, guides for teenagers, a graphic novel and some amazing...

30 April 2019

Alex Rider: Secret Weapon - book trailer

Ever since MI6 recognised his potential, Alex Rider has constantly been thrust into the line of danger. From a routine visit to the dentist that turns into a chase through the streets of London, to a school trip with a...

30 April 2019

Malamander - book trailer

Nobody visits Eerie-on-Sea in the winter. Especially not when darkness falls and the wind howls around Maw Rocks and the wreck of the battleship Leviathan, where even now some swear they have seen the unctuous Malamander creep… Discover Malamander by Thomas...

04 February 2019

February 2019 Children's booklist - letters, diaries and memoirs

Letters, Diaries and Memoirs This month we have loved picking our favourite picture and illustrated and middle grade books which are either written in letter or diary form or are memoirs. We have also selected six books for this theme perfect for...

02 November 2018

A Society of Readers

A new report lays out the central role reading must play in helping to address many of the most pressing challenges British society will face over the next decade. Read the full report and share your thoughts on Twitter and...

05 July 2018

Think Like an Engineer by Usborne - activity booklet

Think Like an Engineer activity booklet Usborne have created a fantastic activity pack to help inspire children with engineering. They can find out what it takes to be an awesome engineer in this free activity booklet, filled with problems to solve,...

05 July 2018

The Girls with the Lost Smile by Miranda Hart - Event Pack

FIND YOUR SMILE using this fun The Girl with the Lost Smile event pack! The Girl with the Lost Smile Chloe Long has lost her smile. She’s looked everywhere for it. (Under her pillow. Under her bed. Under her nose. Obviously.) She’s tried...

18 June 2018

Royal Society Young People's Book Prize - Chatterbooks Activity Pack

The Royal Society Young People’s Book Prize aims to inspire young people to read about science and promotes the writing of excellent, accessible books for under-14s. We have created a Chatterbooks Pack featuring this year’s brilliant shortlisted titles. There are...

22 May 2018

Big Bones by Laura Dockrill - Live out loud: Secondary School resources packs and competition

This resource pack is based on Big Bones, a vibrant and bold teen novel from writer and performance poet Laura Dockrill. It is a coming-of-age story about self-appreciation, body-confidence and learning how to love yourself and others – and it will...

02 May 2018

The Children of Castle Rock by Natasha Farrant - The Great Library Orienteering Challenge

The Children of Castle Rock ‘There would be at least two betrayals, a few lies and a couple of near-death experiences before they could really call themselves friends’ Alice Mistlethwaite has been packed off to an unusual boarding school in Scotland. Everyone...

01 April 2018

The Wonderling by Mira Bartók - Discussion guide

The Wonderling In this extraordinary debut novel with its deft nod to Dickensian heroes and rogues, Mira Bartók tells the story of Arthur, a shy, fox-like foundling with only one ear and a desperate desire to belong, as he seeks...

09 October 2017

The Dollmaker of Krakow by R. M. Romero - Teachers' guide

The Dollmaker of Krakow A timeless fantasy set in the Second World War that weaves together magic, folklore and history, perfect for fans of The Book Thief, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and Goodnight Mister Tom. One night a little...

10 September 2017

Dragon's Green - Teacher Resource

Dragon’s Green Dragon’s Green is the first book in the Worldquake sequence, a trilogy of books all about magic and adventure! In Dragon’s Green, Effie and her friends seem to be normal schoolchildren but when they discover their hidden Otherworld...

03 July 2017

Animal Agents Chatterbooks Activity Pack

Here is a Chatterbooks activity pack to accompany this year’s Summer Reading Challenge, Animal Agents. It features some of the fabulous books in this year’s Summer Reading Challenge collection.

01 March 2017

World Book Day 2017 Chatterbooks Activity Pack

This year is very special. It is the 20th year there’s been a World Book Day, and on 2nd March 2017 children of all ages will come together to appreciate reading. In this pack you’ll find lots of ideas for your...

20 February 2017

World Book Day 2017 Toolkit

Are you wondering how you can support World Book Day 2017? This Toolkit has been designed so that authors, illustrators, publishers, librarians and booksellers can join in with #WorldBookDay20. There are loads of ideas, such as how you could use social...

03 November 2016

Chatterbooks Newsletter

The latest Chatterbooks Newsletter. This November newsletter celebrates National Non-Fiction November.

02 November 2016

Pamela Butchart activity pack

This Chatterbooks activity pack celebrates eight hilarious books from author Pamela Butchart and publisher Nosy Crow. Meet Pugly, the pug with great ideas who is ready for (almost!) anything; and Peri (aka Petunia Perry), Cammy, their band the Spoons, and...

01 November 2016

Behind the scenes of 'Children Just Like Me'

In this behind the scenes video, non-fiction book designer Fiona and editor Sam explain how books get made at DK and share some special moments from the making of Children Just Like Me

01 November 2016

National Non-Fiction November - DK booklist

Enjoy these great titles from DK – part of National Non-Fiction November’s 100 Brilliant Non-Fiction Books for Children and Young People

09 September 2016

Chatterbooks Week Activity Pack

This is a Chatterbooks Activity Pack to celebrate Chatterbooks Week which takes place from 1-8 October 2016. The theme of this pack is illustration and In this pack you’ll find lots of ideas for your group’s activities and discussion,

08 September 2016

Chatterbooks Week Book List

To celebrate Chatterbooks Week (1-8 Oct) here are some recent books from our Children’s Reading Partners publisher partners, showing a range of inspiring approaches to illustration – in picture books, and also in illustrated fiction and non-fiction.

02 June 2016

Chatterbooks Activity Packs - List

Here are some of the most popular Chatterbooks activity packs, published over the past few years, with direct links for downloading.

05 May 2016

Time-Travellers Chatterbooks activity pack

If you could travel through time where would you go? To the past or the future? How might you get there? In a time machine – or maybe through a time-slip? Whom would you like to meet? This Chatterbooks Time-Travellers...

12 April 2016

Thrills, adventures, spies and detectives! Chatterbooks activity pack

Following up on our original Spies and Thrillers Chatterbooks activity pack here is another pack on the same theme, with more great reading, discussion and activity ideas. This pack is geared more to the older children in your group; it...

16 March 2016

What's So Special About Shakespeare? video

At this very moment, someone, somewhere in the world, is reading Shakespeare. And, even though he died 400 years ago, someone else is writing about him, or acting in one of his plays. Here, Michael Rosen shares just some of...