Resources

Sign up » Sign up to the Chatterbooks network and the monthly newsletter

Latest offers » Offers and competitions from children’s publishers

More info » Find out more about Chatterbooks reading clubs for children

Buy Chatterbooks materials » Schools’ starter packs – welcome packs for children and group leaders’ toolkits

18 October 2017

Witch for a Week - spellbinding potion competition

Witch for a Week A new magical adventure from Kaye Umansky, the bestselling author of the much loved children’s classic Pongwiffy, brought to life with charming illustrations from Ashley King! To celebrate the start of this spellbinding new series, Simon & Schuster...

11 October 2017

The Polar Bear Explorers’ Club - Host a Polar Bear Explorers' Book Club

The Polar Bear Explorers’ Club The Polar Bear Explorers’ Club is a gorgeously imaginative and snowy middle grade fantasy adventure combining the magic of Peter Pan, the chaos of A Series of Unfortunate Events, and the thrilling icy adventure of Northern...

09 October 2017

The Wonderling - Discussion guide

The Wonderling In this extraordinary debut novel with its deft nod to Dickensian heroes and rogues, Mira Bartók tells the story of Arthur, a shy, fox-like foundling with only one ear and a desperate desire to belong, as he seeks...

09 October 2017

The Dollmaker of Krakow by R. M. Romero - Teachers' guide

The Dollmaker of Krakow A timeless fantasy set in the Second World War that weaves together magic, folklore and history, perfect for fans of The Book Thief, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and Goodnight Mister Tom. One night a little...

10 September 2017

Dragon's Green - Teacher Resource

Dragon’s Green Dragon’s Green is the first book in the Worldquake sequence, a trilogy of books all about magic and adventure! In Dragon’s Green, Effie and her friends seem to be normal schoolchildren but when they discover their hidden Otherworld...

06 September 2017

Poetry Chatterbooks Activity Pack 2017

To celebrate National Poetry Day on 28 September, we’ve collaborated with the Forward Arts Foundation to create a new Poetry Chatterbooks Activity Pack. National Poetry Day is an initiative of the Forward Arts Foundation, a charity that celebrates excellence in...

04 September 2017

Royal Society Young People's Book Prize Chatterbooks Pack

The Royal Society Young People’s Book Prize aims to inspire young people to read about science and promotes the writing of excellent, accessible books for under-14s. We have created a Chatterbooks Pack featuring this year’s shortlisted titles. There are plenty...

03 July 2017

Animal Agents Chatterbooks Activity Pack

Here is a Chatterbooks activity pack to accompany this year’s Summer Reading Challenge, Animal Agents. It features some of the fabulous books in this year’s Summer Reading Challenge collection.

01 June 2017

Chris Riddell Chatterbooks Activity Pack

Chris Riddell is a prolific author and illustrator whose huge range of award winning work covers picture books and fiction for older children. He was appointed Children’s Laureate for the period of 2015-2017. Find out more about Chris and his...

04 May 2017

Coding Skills Chatterbooks Activity Pack

This Chatterbooks activity pack highlights four great titles including a series package of four books about coding from our Children’s Reading Partners publisher partner QED Publishing, written by computer expert Max Wainewright.

03 April 2017

Faber Chatterbooks Activity Pack

Meet Squishy McFluff, Dave Pigeon & Woozy the Wizard, three fun characters from Faber. This pack gives descriptions and tasters from all the books, suggestions for more reading, plus discussion and activity ideas for your Chatterbooks reading groups.

13 March 2017

Shakespeare Week 2017 Chatterbooks Activity Pack

Here is a special Chatterbooks activity pack for Shakespeare Week 2017 with details of books for young people about Shakespeare, retellings of his plays, ideas for discussion and activities in your Chatterbooks reading group and suggestions for more reading. ...

01 March 2017

World Book Day 2017 Chatterbooks Activity Pack

This year is very special. It is the 20th year there’s been a World Book Day, and on 2nd March 2017 children of all ages will come together to appreciate reading. In this pack you’ll find lots of ideas for your...

20 February 2017

World Book Day 2017 Toolkit

Are you wondering how you can support World Book Day 2017? This Toolkit has been designed so that authors, illustrators, publishers, librarians and booksellers can join in with #WorldBookDay20. There are loads of ideas, such as how you could use social...

30 January 2017

Spies and Crime Busters - Chatterbooks Activity Pack

Following up on our previous ‘spies and detectives’ packs, here’s another collection of action adventures and detective stories, with thrills and twists – and often humour too! As well as lots of reading suggestions for your group you’ll find ideas on...

12 January 2017

Stories from Around the World - Chatterbooks Activity Pack

In this pack are reading ideas for all ages: adventures, folk tales, stories in translation and non-fiction titles, which take you around the world introducing you to people and places, and their lives and experiences. There are also ideas for...

20 December 2016

A Monster Calls - discussion guide

Download these discussion questions for A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

28 November 2016

Cosy Winter Reads - Chatterbooks Booklist

Check out these winter reads from our children’s publisher partners. There are books for all ages, plus discussion and activity ideas for your Chatterbooks group.

28 November 2016

Cosy Winter Reads - Chatterbooks Activity Pack

In this Chatterbooks activity pack you’ll find cosy, familiar, and magical stories to keep out the winter chill – and adventures in snow and ice bringing shivers and thrills and wonder. There are books for all ages, plus discussion and activity...

03 November 2016

Chatterbooks Newsletter

The latest Chatterbooks Newsletter. This November newsletter celebrates National Non-Fiction November.

02 November 2016

Pamela Butchart activity pack

This Chatterbooks activity pack celebrates eight hilarious books from author Pamela Butchart and publisher Nosy Crow. Meet Pugly, the pug with great ideas who is ready for (almost!) anything; and Peri (aka Petunia Perry), Cammy, their band the Spoons, and...

01 November 2016

Behind the scenes of 'Children Just Like Me'

In this behind the scenes video, non-fiction book designer Fiona and editor Sam explain how books get made at DK and share some special moments from the making of Children Just Like Me

01 November 2016

National Non-Fiction November - DK booklist

Enjoy these great titles from DK – part of National Non-Fiction November’s 100 Brilliant Non-Fiction Books for Children and Young People

01 November 2016

National Non-Fiction November poster

Celebrate National Non-Fiction November with this poster featuring 100 brilliant non-fiction titles for children and young people

31 October 2016

Wonderful Non-Fiction - Chatterbooks Activity Pack

This Chatterbooks activity pack gives you a treasure chest of wonderful non-fiction titles from our Children’s Reading Partners publisher partners, plus lots of ideas for activities and discussion with your Chatterbooks groups. Enjoy these bright and vibrant books, full of...

31 October 2016

Get to know the Dewey Decimal Classification system

A brief PowerPoint slide show to help you understand how the Dewey Decimal Classification system works in your library

26 October 2016

Wonderful Non-Fiction - Chatterbooks Booklist

Enjoy this great selection of information books on all kinds of subjects.

19 September 2016

Chatterbooks Week Social Media Card

We’ve teamed up with Walker Books to create a social media card for Chatterbooks Week. Print out this card and share the book that made you a “Child of Books” on social media.

09 September 2016

Chatterbooks Week Activity Pack

This is a Chatterbooks Activity Pack to celebrate Chatterbooks Week which takes place from 1-8 October 2016. The theme of this pack is illustration and In this pack you’ll find lots of ideas for your group’s activities and discussion,

08 September 2016

Chatterbooks Week Book List

To celebrate Chatterbooks Week (1-8 Oct) here are some recent books from our Children’s Reading Partners publisher partners, showing a range of inspiring approaches to illustration – in picture books, and also in illustrated fiction and non-fiction.