The Reading Agency

Donate now
Tackling life's big challenges through the proven power of reading

Resources

04 August 2022

Latest opportunities from our publisher partners for schools and libraries - author visits, free sets of books and POS packs!

If you have a reading group with children or work in a school or library – we have some fantastic opportunities for you! We have free author visits for the autumn, 100s of books for children and young people reading...

29 July 2022

bsmall's Young Language Learner Competition

Open to young linguists aged 6-11, the b small Young Language Learner Award 2022 aims to support and encourage language learning through story-writing. Created by independent children’s publisher b small publishing, this popular award has previously run in 2014...

19 July 2022

'PESTS' Teaching Resources

In this resource pack for KS2 Teachers, you will find a range of activities for subjects including creative writing, drama, art, design & technology, and PSHE, linking to the three books in the PESTS series. About the Books When the lights...

19 July 2022

'PESTS' Activity Trail

Create an adventure in your own back garden this summer with this Activity Trail pack. Print out the PESTS, hide them wherever you want and see who can find the most of them. About the Book Meet Stix, the tiny but...

19 July 2022

'The Dragon in the Bookshop' Teachers' Notes

Use these Teachers’ Notes for ‘The Dragon in the Bookshop’ to help guide conversation in your classroom about the book and further discuss the themes. About the Book The Dragon in the Bookshopby Ewa Jozefkowicz An old Polish city fizzes with fear. The...

19 July 2022

'How to Catch a Rainbow' Teachers Notes

Explore the themes of ‘How to Catch a Rainbow’ with your Year One, Reception or Early Years class with these Teachers Notes from Oxford Children’s Books. Includes activities for whole class and smaller groups, all linked to the National Curriculum. About...

19 July 2022

'How to Catch a Rainbow' Activity Sheets

Explore all the colours of the rainbow with this activity sheet and colouring in sheet. About the Book Freya loves rainbows. She loves their bright colours and their curvy shape. More than anything, she wishes she has one of her very own....

19 July 2022

'Bee Active' Activity Pack

Helping our planet can feel overwhelming at times, but every little action really does count, especially when lots of people join in. Just look at the busy bees and other pollinators for proof of what can be achieved. Together, these...

19 July 2022

Roy of the Rovers Virtual Assembly

To kick off your summer, Rebellion Publishing and award-winning Children’s book author Tom Palmer invite you to join them in a fun and free assembly celebrating the fantastic football book series, Roy of the Rovers! With the series now spanning sixteen...

17 July 2022

Big Bright Feelings series by Tom Percival - digital pack

Bloomsbury Children’s Books has created an activity pack to promote Tom Percival’s Big Bright Feelings series, including the latest title, Milo’s Monster! Tom Percival’s Big Bright Feelings series is the perfect springboard for talking about mental and emotional health, positive self-image,...

16 July 2022

Ready for Spaghetti: Funny Poems for Funny Kids Library Event Pack

Fizzing with rhythm, energy and laughter, the 30 poems in Ready for Spaghetti delight in the details of children’s daily routines. Full of affectionate observations of young children, which are beautifully continued in Polly Dunbar’s warm-hearted pictures, Michael Rosen’s poems...

15 July 2022

The Reading Agency's September Booklist for Children and Young People - Back to School

For many children and young people, September marks the start of the new school year, a time that can be both exciting and daunting. We have created a booklist for all children, from nursey school age through to secondary students,...

15 July 2022

The Reading Agency's August Booklist for Children & Young People - Escape with a Book

As lots of people head off on their holidays, we selected books that can transport a reader somewhere else even if they’re not going away. From picking up plastic pollution on a Caribbean Island to rural Ireland to Memphis, we...

14 July 2022

The Marvellous Doctors for Magical Creatures by Jodie Lancet-Grant and Lydia Corry - digital pack

Unicorns with tummy trouble. Dragons with broken wings. Sneezy centaurs and mermaids with measles. Everyone in town knows just who to see when they are feeling poorly: Ava and her dads, The Marvellous Doctors for Magical Creatures. Well, Ava isn’t a...

07 July 2022

Read Between the Lies by Malcolm Duffy - Teachers' Resources

Two very different boys, one new family, a shared struggle and a big secret. Tommy is talented, cool, a young offender, and dyslexic. Ryan is smart, uncool, well-behaved, and dyslexic. The two develop an unlikely friendship. As Ryan helps Tommy to read, a secret...

06 July 2022

Oh No, George! 10th Anniversary - library and school digital packs

t’s hard work being good all the time – and it’s especially hard for a dog like George! Now celebrating its 10th anniversary, Oh No, George! is a laugh-out-loud, visual romp from the acclaimed author-illustrator, Chris Haughton. The digital packs include: -...

04 July 2022

Summer Reading Challenge x StoryTrails Activity Pack (Welsh)

StoryTrails is a unique, immersive storytelling experience. It aims to allow local people to experience their town in a completely new way through immersive technology, including augmented and virtual reality. People will be able to use this new technology to...

04 July 2022

Summer Reading Challenge x StoryTrails additional apps and ideas (Welsh)

Additional apps and ideas for StoryTrails x Summer Reading Challenge activities Download Other SRCxST Resources Get Immersive with the Gadgeteers Activity Toolkit Additional Resources and Activities Get Immersive with the Gadgeteers Schools Activity Toolkit Welsh Get Immersive with the Gadgeteers Activity Toolkit Welsh Get Immersive with...

04 July 2022

Summer Reading Challenge x StoryTrails Activity Toolkit for Teachers (Welsh)

This pack brings together StoryTrails and the Summer Reading Challenge, providing apps and session plans to help children and young people explore the themes of innovation, technology and immersive storytelling. Immersive Storytelling using innovative technology offers a powerful way to engage...

04 July 2022

The Reading Agency's July Booklist for Children & Young People- Friendship

To mark World Friendship Day, also known as International Day of Friendship which takes place on 30th July this year we have created a booklist of titles about friendship in all its forms.

04 July 2022

Monster Fun - Create A Comic Competition

Our friends at Rebellion have a monstrously fun competition for children this summer! Monster Fun, their brand-new children’s comic packed with laughter, mischief, and mayhem, wants children aged up to 16-years-old to submit create a comic strip with their favourite...

03 July 2022

Hope on the Horizon by Onjali Q. Raúf - School Resources

“No one is too small to make a change.” Growing up, there is so much out of our control and so much we can feel helpless about. But together, we can make a difference. In this inspiring and practical handbook, bestselling...

01 July 2022

Secrets of an Undercover Activist by Nat Amoore - teaching resources and activity pack

Secrets of an Undercover Activist is the outrageous story of three best friends, one greedy mayor and a whole lot of pranking, by Nat Amoore! This book is suitable for readers aged 8+ Casey Wu tries to stay out of the spotlight,...

26 June 2022

Ghostcloud by Michael Mann - digital pack

Catch the wind. Find your freedom. Kidnapped and forced to shovel coal underneath a half-bombed, blackened power station, 12-year-old Luke’s life is miserable. Then, he discovers he can see things others can’t. Ghostly things. Specifically, a ghost-girl named Alma. Alma, who...

24 June 2022

Summer Reading Challenge x StoryTrails Activity Toolkit for Teachers

This pack brings together StoryTrails and the Summer Reading Challenge, providing apps and session plans to help children and young people explore the themes of innovation, technology and immersive storytelling. Immersive Storytelling using innovative technology offers a powerful way to engage...

23 June 2022

Summer Reading Challenge x StoryTrails additional apps and ideas

Additional apps and ideas for StoryTrails x Summer Reading Challenge activities Download Other SRCxST Resources Get Immersive with the Gadgeteers Activity Toolkit Get Immersive with the Gadgeteers Schools Activity Toolkit Welsh Get Immersive with the Gadgeteers Activity Toolkit Welsh Additional Resources and Activities Welsh Get Immersive...

23 June 2022

Summer Reading Challenge x StoryTrails

StoryTrails is a unique, immersive storytelling experience. It aims to allow local people to experience their town in a completely new way through immersive technology, including augmented and virtual reality. People will be able to use this new technology to...

20 June 2022

'Autumn Moonbeam' Activities

Dive into the world of Autumn Moonbeam with this activity pack, including puzzles, a recipe and instructions to create a puppet theatre. THE BOOK Autumn Moonbeam loves gymnastics and dance so when Sparkledale Dance Academy have tryouts for their competitive dance team,...

16 June 2022

Join the adventure club with Jess Butterworth - activity pack

Join the adventure club this summer and embark on the journey of a lifetime. Instil a love of reading and adventure with your class with this fantastic series by much-loved author Jess Butterworth – writer of classic adventure stories in vibrantly...

15 June 2022

When I See Blue by Lily Bailey – Teaching Resources

An unforgettable, heartfelt story about life with OCD and the unique power of friendship, from inspiring author and mental health activist, Lily Bailey. Perfect for readers of A Kind of Spark and The Goldfish Boy. About the Book New town, new school,...