Donate now
Tackling life's big challenges through the proven power of reading

Resources

Sign up » Sign up to the Chatterbooks network and the monthly newsletter

Latest offers » Offers and competitions from children’s publishers

More info » Find out more about Chatterbooks reading clubs for children

Buy Chatterbooks materials » Schools’ starter packs – welcome packs for children and group leaders’ toolkits

25 October 2020

Awesomely Austen - Book Club Pack

Meet your new favourite heroines – they’re bold, brilliant and totally awesome! Fresh, funny and accessible retellings of Jane Austen’s classic stories, with witty black and white illustrations throughout. The perfect way to discover Austen for the first time, this bright...

15 October 2020

The Kid Who Came From Space by Ross Welford - Teachers' Notes

The stunning new 10+ story from the bestselling and award-winning author of TIME TRAVELLING WITH A HAMSTER, for anyone who loved the humour of WALL-E, the action of STAR WARS and the deeply touching emotion of ET. A small village in...

12 October 2020

There’s a Rang-tan in My Bedroom - digital pack

There’s a Rang-Tan in My Bedroom is based on the Greenpeace film that became a viral sensation, about a little girl who discovers a mischievous orangutan on the loose in her bedroom, and she can’t understand why it keeps shouting...

29 September 2020

Zombierella - exclusive Libraries Week poster

CELEBRATE LIBRARIES WEEK WITH FAIRY TALES GONE BAD! Crawl out of the grave and step into your mushroom carriage for Zombierella: Fairy Tales Gone Bad, a haunting and humorous adventure of an undead girl searching for her happily ever after. Described...

24 September 2020

Celebrate Coding Week with Agent Asha - digital pack

Walker Books would love to join you in celebrating Coding Week with a special offer for libraries nationwide. Computer code just got dangerous in this new action-packed spy adventure series from Sophie Deen “This rip-roaring secret agent caper for seven-plus is full...

03 September 2020

International Dot Day - Special Event Packs

Celebrate International Dot Day on 15th-ish September! International Dot Day, a global celebration of creativity, courage and collaboration, began when teacher Terry Shay introduced his classroom to Peter H. Reynolds’ book The Dot on September 15, 2009. Now, every 15-ish September,...

18 August 2020

Wonderful Non-fiction Chatterbooks Pack

In this Chatterbooks activity pack you’ll find some great suggestions for wonderful non-fiction books to explore, read and enjoy together. Inspired by Merry the Giraffe from the Summer Reading Challenge’s Silly Squad, this pack will focus on her favourite things,...

11 August 2020

How reading can promote writing for pleasure article

We believe that through reading a wide variety of books and texts, children can improve their vocabulary and grow more confident with their own writing ability. To help you with this, we have collated a host of resources and useful...

23 July 2020

The importance of comics, graphic novels and illustrated books article

Like Bamboozle the Panda from the Silly Squad, we love comics, graphic novels and books that have beautiful illustrations. As well as being fun they can be really important to a child’s reading journey. We also share useful sites and...

16 July 2020

Parentkind and The Reading Agency - Reading as a Family: Top tips for reading together resources

Reading for pleasure delivers enormous benefits for children of all ages. It builds reading and literacy confidence as well as influencing children’s health and wellbeing, future academic achievement and adult life chances. Evidence shows that families can play a key...

30 June 2020

Winterborne Home for Vengeance and Valour by Ally Carter - digital pack

FIVE EXTRAORDINARY ORPHANS. ONE INCREDIBLE MYSTERY. Bursting with adventure, mayhem and friendship, this is the first in an action-packed new middle-grade series – from the bestselling author of Gallagher Girls, Ally Carter – and the perfect book for readers who love...

12 June 2020

Starfell by Dominique Valente and Sarah Warburton - Digital Activity Pack

Step into the magical world of Starfell in the most spellbinding children’s fantasy series of the year! With beautiful illustrations by Sarah Warburton, Dominique Valente’s Starfell is perfect for fans of Cressida Cowell and Nevermoor. Willow Moss, the youngest and least...

10 June 2020

How to host a virtual book club with your class article

Are you wondering how your reading group can continue to meet, even while you’re social distancing? With so many children and families at home, we know that books are so important to provide comfort, solace and escapism. Staying connected and keeping your...

10 June 2020

How schools can get involved with Summer Reading Challenge 2020 article

The Summer Reading Challenge, presented by The Reading Agency and funded by Arts Council England, encourages children aged 4 to 11 to set themselves a reading challenge to help prevent the summer reading ‘dip’. For the Summer Reading Challenge 2020, we are...

15 April 2020

Extraordinary - reading notes and activities

A gentle tale about reaching for the stars and being extraordinary . . . but remembering the ordinary too. Extraordinary celebrates the best moments in life: the ones we share with friends and family. They may be simple, they may be...

03 April 2020

Stay home with the Walker Bear - Walker Books author videos and activities

Walker Books have LOTS of great resources to keep children entertained. Alex Rider Goes Live To celebrate the publication of Nightshade, the explosive new novel in the Alex Rider series, award-winning writer Anthony Horowitz will be hosting a virtual book launch at...

03 April 2020

Chicken House's Schools' Hub

Teachers, librarians, kids’ club leaders – gather round! In Chicken House’s Schools’ Hub you’ll find educational resources that sit alongside their brilliant books and align with the Key Stage 2 and 3 curriculums. With content created by teachers and librarians that...

26 March 2020

We're Going on a Bear Hunt - celebrating 30 years

*We’re going on a bear hunt. We’re going to catch a big one. Will you come too?* We’re Going on a Bear Hunt, the classic chant-aloud by Michael Rosen and Helen Oxenbury, started a publishing phenomenon 30 years ago with readers swishy-swashying and...

25 March 2020

There’s a Rang-tan in My Bedroom - supporting resources and activity sheets

Teach children about the plight of the orangutan and the dangers of deforestation in, There’s a Rang-tan in My Bedroom, the timely and beautiful picture book by James Sellick and Frann Preston-Gannon. Hachette Children’s Group have got lots of excellent...

25 March 2020

The Infinite - Teacher Resource Pack

About the Book Leaplings, children born on the 29th of February, are very rare. Rarer still are Leaplings with The Gift – the ability to leap through time. Elle Bíbi-Imbelé Ifíè has The Gift, but she’s never used it. Until now. On...

24 March 2020

Lenny Makes a Wish - Reading Notes

When Lenny the rabbit spots a lonely fish in a pond, they soon become friends. But will their friendship survive, when Lenny lives on land and his friend lives in water? A heart-warming story about the enduring power of friendship....

24 March 2020

Attack of the Smart Speakers - Reading Notes

There’s a new craze in town for smart speakers and everyone has got one. At first they seem super helpful, but Tyler and her friends soon start to get suspicious. It’s like these virtual assistants are really the ones in...

11 March 2020

The Threads of Magic - Teachers' Notes

An atmospheric and riveting fantasy adventure, perfect for fans of Frances Hardinge and Cornelia Funke. Pip lives on his wits in the city of Clarel. When he pickpockets the wrong man, he finds himself in possession of a strange object –...

10 March 2020

Bunnies on the Bus by Philip Ardagh and Ben Mantle - Storytelling Kit

Watch out! Move out of the way! Hold onto your tails! There are … BUNNIES ON THE BUS! And they aren’t stopping for ANYONE! The bunnies have taken over the bus and they’re on a wild ride across the streets of...

03 March 2020

The Good Hawk by Joseph Elliott - discussion guide and author video

If everything was taken from you, what would you do to get it back? Agatha patrols the sea wall with pride, despite those in her clan who question her right to be there, because of the condition she was born with. Jaime...

14 February 2020

The Maker of Monsters by Lorraine Gregory - activity pack

Brat has always lived in the isolated castle on the island, taking care of the vicious creatures that his master creates, waiting in terror for the moment when they are ready to be put to use. But then the unthinkable...

14 February 2020

Me and Mister P by Maria Farrer - Reading notes, discussion ideas and activities

There are times when only a polar bear will do… So Mum and Dad have decided we’re moving house, but not just down the road, not even in the same town… not even in the same COUNTRY! Not only that, but...

14 February 2020

The Last Spell Breather by Julie Pike - Ideas for discussion and activities

*In this stunning fantasy story, enter the unique world of the Spell Breathers!* Spell breathing does not come naturally to Rayne—she hates the hours of practice, the stacks of scrolls, and the snapping mud devils that cover her mother’s precious spell book. But...

07 February 2020

The Viper's Daughter by Michelle Paver - activity pack

A boy. A wolf. The legend lives on. Viper’s Daughter is the seventh book in the award-winning series that began with Wolf Brother, selling over 3 million copies in 36 territories. It can be read as a standalone story. For two...

05 February 2020

Alex Rider 20th Anniversary - Teachers' Notes

CELEBRATE THE 20TH ANNIVERSARY OF THE NUMBER ONE BESTSELLING SERIES! Encourage pupils to become READING SPIES and to take their writing to the next level with the Alex Rider series by Anthony Horowitz – suitable for children ages 9+. The pack is...