Donate now
Tackling life's big challenges through the proven power of reading

Resources

03 September 2020

International Dot Day - Special Event Packs

Celebrate International Dot Day on 15th-ish September! International Dot Day, a global celebration of creativity, courage and collaboration, began when teacher Terry Shay introduced his classroom to Peter H. Reynolds’ book The Dot on September 15, 2009. Now, every 15-ish September,...

18 August 2020

Wonderful Non-fiction Chatterbooks Pack

In this Chatterbooks activity pack you’ll find some great suggestions for wonderful non-fiction books to explore, read and enjoy together. Inspired by Merry the Giraffe from the Summer Reading Challenge’s Silly Squad, this pack will focus on her favourite things,...

23 July 2020

The importance of comics, graphic novels and illustrated books article

Like Bamboozle the Panda from the Silly Squad, we love comics, graphic novels and books that have beautiful illustrations. As well as being fun they can be really important to a child’s reading journey. We also share useful sites and...

23 July 2020

Education & Training Foundation ESOL for Refugees: resources for new arrivals

Visit the Education & Training foundation for resources and teaching materials to support ESOL learners and specifically refugees. These resources aim to help ESOL practitioners better meet the early integration needs of refugees who are New to ESOL i.e. working below,...

20 July 2020

Quick Reads survey Twitter card

Share this card with your readers so that we can hear from everyone who has read a Quick Read. Suggested accompanying tweet: Have you read a Quick Read? Share your thoughts in this short survey and be in with a chance to...

16 July 2020

Parentkind and The Reading Agency - Reading as a Family: Top tips for reading together resources

Reading for pleasure delivers enormous benefits for children of all ages. It builds reading and literacy confidence as well as influencing children’s health and wellbeing, future academic achievement and adult life chances. Evidence shows that families can play a key...

13 July 2020

Silly Squad Website Platform Guide

This step-by-step guide explains how to register on the Summer Reading Challenge website and set up a Silly Squad profile to take part in the 2020 Challenge online. Visit https://summerreadingchallenge.org.uk/help for further help and guidance This is a locked resource for library...

13 July 2020

Reading Well fact sheet

Fact sheet about Reading Well, to use for activation and commissioning.

03 July 2020

Silly Squad Core Pack Guide

A comprehensive guide to the Silly Squad Summer Reading Challenge Core Pack poster and stickers. All illustrations © Laura Ellen Anderson 2020 Please note: this is a locked resource for library authorities participating in the Summer Reading Challenge 2020. Libraries should contact...

02 July 2020

Editable Reading Ahead Completion Certificate 2019-20

This certificate is for those who have completed six reads and filled in their Reading Ahead diary in full. It can be downloaded and edited to fill in the name of the completer and issuer to send out to those who...

02 July 2020

The Kid Who Came From Space by Ross Welford - Teachers' Notes

The stunning new 10+ story from the bestselling and award-winning author of TIME TRAVELLING WITH A HAMSTER, for anyone who loved the humour of WALL-E, the action of STAR WARS and the deeply touching emotion of ET. A small village in...

30 June 2020

Winterborne Home for Vengeance and Valour by Ally Carter - digital pack

FIVE EXTRAORDINARY ORPHANS. ONE INCREDIBLE MYSTERY. Bursting with adventure, mayhem and friendship, this is the first in an action-packed new middle-grade series – from the bestselling author of Gallagher Girls, Ally Carter – and the perfect book for readers who love...

26 June 2020

Silly Squad 2020 Communications Plan

Contains information on the social media and comms plans The Reading Agency has put together to help drive awareness of the Challenge throughout July and August. Use this as inspiration for your own Silly Squad social media/comms activity over the summer. All...

25 June 2020

Silly Squad Character Guide

A comprehensive guide to all the characters in this year’s Silly Squad Summer Reading Challenge. All illustrations © Laura Ellen Anderson 2020 Please note: this is a locked resource for library authorities participating in the Summer Reading Challenge 2020. Libraries should contact...

12 June 2020

Starfell by Dominique Valente and Sarah Warburton - Digital Activity Pack

Step into the magical world of Starfell in the most spellbinding children’s fantasy series of the year! With beautiful illustrations by Sarah Warburton, Dominique Valente’s Starfell is perfect for fans of Cressida Cowell and Nevermoor. Willow Moss, the youngest and least...

10 June 2020

How to host a virtual book club with your class article

Are you wondering how your reading group can continue to meet, even while you’re social distancing? With so many children and families at home, we know that books are so important to provide comfort, solace and escapism. Staying connected and keeping your...

10 June 2020

Why reading for pleasure is vital and how to encourage your students to read for enjoyment article

This article shares some of the research that outlines the importance of reading for pleasure as well as some ideas to promote reading for pleasure in your school. Make sure you visit our School Zone on the Summer Reading Challenge website...

10 June 2020

How schools can get involved with Summer Reading Challenge 2020 article

The Summer Reading Challenge, presented by The Reading Agency and funded by Arts Council England, encourages children aged 4 to 11 to set themselves a reading challenge to help prevent the summer reading ‘dip’. For the Summer Reading Challenge 2020, we are...

10 June 2020

Silly Squad Assembly Presentation

Schools can share this presentation in class or on remote learning platforms to introduce the Silly Squad to pupils. Libraries can adapt this presentation to share with local schools. Key information on the Summer Reading Challenge 2020 is included in the...

29 May 2020

Reading Ahead for prisons during Covid-19 toolkit

This toolkit contains ideas and resources for continuing with Reading Ahead in prison settings responding to the current lockdown during Covid-19. This is a working document and will be updated as more resources become available. Do get in touch if you...

29 May 2020

Silly Squad Launch Toolkit

Join our Silly Squad! This Communications Toolkit contains key information and suggestions for promoting the Summer Reading Challenge 2020. Please note: this is a locked resource for library authorities participating in the Summer Reading Challenge 2020. Libraries should contact their local Summer...

20 May 2020

Reading Ahead during Covid-19 toolkit

This toolkit contains ideas and resources for continuing with Reading Ahead despite closures of public libraries, colleges and workplaces during Covid-19. This is a working document and will be updated as more resources become available. Do get in touch if you...

19 May 2020

This Is Going To Hurt: Diary Writing Challenge

This activity sheet has been designed for use alongside reading the Quick Reads version of Adam Kay’s This Is Going To Hurt. It provides inspiration and a framework for starting a diary.

17 April 2020

On Chapel Sands - reading group guide

Waterstones Book of the Month for April 2020 A deeply moving story of family and community that is striking and unforgettable, On Chapel Sands is part-true crime narrative, part-investigation into the subjectivity of memory and part-witness to a vanishing provincial way...

15 April 2020

Free Nosy Crow books, activities and resources

Nosy Crow is offering an exciting range of activities, teaching resources, free books and other content to keep children busy, inspired and entertained. Activities, Quizzes and Teaching Resources Download a brilliant range of engaging activities, craft ideas and puzzles for children of...

15 April 2020

The Little Island - teaching notes

These teaching notes for The Little Island by Smriti Prasadam-Halls and Robert Starling have been written by the teachers at the CLPE. The concepts in the book and these resources are more suitable for children aged 7+.

15 April 2020

Extraordinary - reading notes and activities

A gentle tale about reaching for the stars and being extraordinary . . . but remembering the ordinary too. Extraordinary celebrates the best moments in life: the ones we share with friends and family. They may be simple, they may be...

15 April 2020

Bear Was There - reading notes and activities

Love is the first thing Mouse feels as he lies in the warmth of his mother’s fur. Then one day, Mouse meets Bear. Mouse is frightened, but what if Bear is not as scary as he seems . . . A gentle and...

15 April 2020

Under the Same Sky - reading notes and activities

Two children on opposite sides of the world crave friendship. Is it possible to be friends across the miles? Under the Same Sky is a gorgeous picture book that features two children from diverse backgrounds. The book introduces children to the...

15 April 2020

Twelve Days of Kindness - reading notes and activities

One little girl realises that a girl in her class is struggling to make friends. With the help of their football coach they come up with a plan. Can their school football team bring them together, and expand their friendship...