Donate now
Tackling life's big challenges through the proven power of reading

Resources

25 February 2021

Fantastically Great Women: Scientists and Their Stories - Digital Activity Pack and Teachers' Notes

Bloomsbury Children’s Books would love to join you in celebrating International Women’s Day and/or International Science Week with a special offer for libraries nationwide! Prepare to be inspired with this fantastically great new series for young readers by the brilliant Kate...

25 February 2021

Become a Reading Spy with Maz Evans’s VI SPY: LICENCE TO CHILL – digital activity resources

To celebrate the arrival of Maz Evans’s VI SPY: LICENCE TO CHILL, the new novel from the author of the bestselling WHO LET THE GODS OUT series, we’ve put together a whole host of VI SPY-themed educational materials – and...

08 February 2021

The Forest of Moon and Sword by Amy Raphael and August Ro - Teachers' Resources

One girl’s fierce journey to save her mother from the fate of the witch trials, with only nature to guide her way. 1647, twelve-year-old Art lives in a small village in Scotland. Her mother has always made potions that cure the...

04 February 2021

February 2021 Children's and Young People booklist - Express Yourself (Children's Mental Health Week)

Place2Be launched the first ever Children’s Mental Health Week in 2015 to shine a spotlight on the importance of children and young people’s mental health. This year’s theme is Express Yourself as expressing yourself is about finding ways to share...

28 January 2021

Proud of Me by Sarah Hagger-Holt - Discussion Questions

An accessible child-centred story about self-acceptance and the importance of opening up to those closest to you. Becky and Josh are almost-twins, with two mums and the same anonymous donor dad. Josh can’t wait until he’s eighteen, the legal age when...

19 January 2021

Bloomsbury announces changes to Harry Potter Book Night 2021

In light of UK restrictions and school closures, Bloomsbury announces changes to Harry Potter Book Night 2021. • Physical events along with key Bloomsbury digital activity to move to Thursday 24th June 2021 • Bloomsbury to provide free digital activities for teachers and...

15 January 2021

The Shark Caller by Zillah Bethell - Resource pack for KS2 Teachers

“I want to be able to call the sharks. Teach me the magic and show me the ways.” Blue Wing is desperate to become a shark caller, but instead she must befriend infuriating newcomer Maple, who arrives unexpectedly on Blue Wing’s...

08 December 2020

There’s a Mouse in My House by Ross Collins - Competition & Digital Activity Pack

The sequel to Ross Collins’ award-winning favourite, There’s a Bear on My Chair, is here! The tables have turned in _There’s a Mouse in My House_… and this time it’s Bear who has an unwelcome guest. This fantastic rhyming picture...

04 December 2020

The Witching Stone by Danny Weston - Digital Pack

UCLan Publishing have created a spooktacular digital pack of videos and discussion points to help you and your pupils enjoy the new YA coming of age horror story from Danny Weston. For Alfie Travers, a summer away from his...

01 December 2020

Gender Swapped Fairy Tales - Lesson Plan

Once upon a time, in the middle of winter, a King sat at a window and sewed. As he sewed and gazed out onto the landscape, he pricked his finger with the needle, and three drops of blood fell onto...

27 November 2020

Football Superstars - Teachers' Notes, activity sheets and poster

Football Superstars is a series aimed at building a love of reading from a young age, with fun cartoons, inspirational stories, a simple narrative style and a cast of characters chipping in with quotes, jokes and comments. Football Superstars: Ronaldo Rules,...

16 November 2020

The History of African and Caribbean Communities in Britain by Dr Hakim Adi - Teachers' Notes

Newly updated, The History of African and Caribbean Communities in Britain explores why people came to Britain, the problems they faced and the contributions these communities have made to British society. Brought to life with case studies and rarely published photographs,...

25 October 2020

Awesomely Austen - Book Club Pack

Meet your new favourite heroines – they’re bold, brilliant and totally awesome! Fresh, funny and accessible retellings of Jane Austen’s classic stories, with witty black and white illustrations throughout. The perfect way to discover Austen for the first time, this bright...

19 October 2020

Blood Moon by Lucy Cuthew - Teachers' Notes, Book Club resources and author videos

Blood Moon is an extraordinary YA novel in verse about the online shaming of a teenage girl. During astronomy-lover Frankie’s first sexual experience with the quiet and lovely Benjamin, she gets her period. It’s only blood, they agree. But soon...

15 October 2020

The Kid Who Came From Space by Ross Welford - Teachers' Notes

The stunning new 10+ story from the bestselling and award-winning author of TIME TRAVELLING WITH A HAMSTER, for anyone who loved the humour of WALL-E, the action of STAR WARS and the deeply touching emotion of ET. A small village in...

12 October 2020

There’s a Rang-tan in My Bedroom - digital pack

There’s a Rang-Tan in My Bedroom is based on the Greenpeace film that became a viral sensation, about a little girl who discovers a mischievous orangutan on the loose in her bedroom, and she can’t understand why it keeps shouting...

07 October 2020

Overview of the titles - Reading Well for children ENG

Overview of the titles of the list – ENG

29 September 2020

Zombierella - exclusive Libraries Week poster

CELEBRATE LIBRARIES WEEK WITH FAIRY TALES GONE BAD! Crawl out of the grave and step into your mushroom carriage for Zombierella: Fairy Tales Gone Bad, a haunting and humorous adventure of an undead girl searching for her happily ever after. Described...

24 September 2020

Celebrate Coding Week with Agent Asha - digital pack

Walker Books would love to join you in celebrating Coding Week with a special offer for libraries nationwide. Computer code just got dangerous in this new action-packed spy adventure series from Sophie Deen “This rip-roaring secret agent caper for seven-plus is full...

03 September 2020

International Dot Day - Special Event Packs

Celebrate International Dot Day on 15th-ish September! International Dot Day, a global celebration of creativity, courage and collaboration, began when teacher Terry Shay introduced his classroom to Peter H. Reynolds’ book The Dot on September 15, 2009. Now, every 15-ish September,...

18 August 2020

Wonderful Non-fiction Chatterbooks Pack

In this Chatterbooks activity pack you’ll find some great suggestions for wonderful non-fiction books to explore, read and enjoy together. Inspired by Merry the Giraffe from the Summer Reading Challenge’s Silly Squad, this pack will focus on her favourite things,...

11 August 2020

How reading can promote writing for pleasure article

We believe that through reading a wide variety of books and texts, children can improve their vocabulary and grow more confident with their own writing ability. To help you with this, we have collated a host of resources and useful...

23 July 2020

The importance of comics, graphic novels and illustrated books article

Like Bamboozle the Panda from the Silly Squad, we love comics, graphic novels and books that have beautiful illustrations. As well as being fun they can be really important to a child’s reading journey. We also share useful sites and...

16 July 2020

Parentkind and The Reading Agency - Reading as a Family: Top tips for reading together resources

Reading for pleasure delivers enormous benefits for children of all ages. It builds reading and literacy confidence as well as influencing children’s health and wellbeing, future academic achievement and adult life chances. Evidence shows that families can play a key...

13 July 2020

Reading Well fact sheet

Fact sheet about Reading Well, to use for activation and commissioning.

30 June 2020

Winterborne Home for Vengeance and Valour by Ally Carter - digital pack

FIVE EXTRAORDINARY ORPHANS. ONE INCREDIBLE MYSTERY. Bursting with adventure, mayhem and friendship, this is the first in an action-packed new middle-grade series – from the bestselling author of Gallagher Girls, Ally Carter – and the perfect book for readers who love...

12 June 2020

Starfell by Dominique Valente and Sarah Warburton - Digital Activity Pack

Step into the magical world of Starfell in the most spellbinding children’s fantasy series of the year! With beautiful illustrations by Sarah Warburton, Dominique Valente’s Starfell is perfect for fans of Cressida Cowell and Nevermoor. Willow Moss, the youngest and least...

10 June 2020

How to host a virtual book club with your class article

Are you wondering how your reading group can continue to meet, even while you’re social distancing? With so many children and families at home, we know that books are so important to provide comfort, solace and escapism. Staying connected and keeping your...

10 June 2020

Why reading for pleasure is vital and how to encourage your students to read for enjoyment article

This article shares some of the research that outlines the importance of reading for pleasure as well as some ideas to promote reading for pleasure in your school. Make sure you visit our School Zone on the Summer Reading Challenge website...

10 June 2020

How schools can get involved with Summer Reading Challenge 2020 article

The Summer Reading Challenge, presented by The Reading Agency and funded by Arts Council England, encourages children aged 4 to 11 to set themselves a reading challenge to help prevent the summer reading ‘dip’. For the Summer Reading Challenge 2020, we are...