Donate now
Tackling life's big challenges through the proven power of reading

Resources

15 April 2020

The Little Island - teaching notes

These teaching notes for The Little Island by Smriti Prasadam-Halls and Robert Starling have been written by the teachers at the CLPE. The concepts in the book and these resources are more suitable for children aged 7+.

21 January 2020

The Monster Writing (A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness) - a competition

Walker Books have an exciting creative writing challenge called THE MONSTER CHALLENGE. ‘Stories are important. Stories can be more important than anything. If they carry the truth.’ Patrick Ness, A Monster Calls Are you a young person with a passion for telling...

30 September 2019

The Golden Cage by Anna Castagnoli and Carll Cneut - activity pack

Valentina the emperor’s daughter is an obsessive collector of exotic birds. Her servants track down every bird she desires – just one remains unfound: a bird that talks. Servants search far and wide to fulfill her impossible quest – and...

19 September 2019

Plastic Sucks! You Can Make A Difference - Plastic Sucks Day Guide

How can YOU help save our planet? This awesome and inspiring guide, written by McFly bassist and environmental activist Dougie Poynter, will show you how to get involved in the mission to cut out single-use plastic. Plastic is everywhere and it...

18 September 2019

Beverley, Right Here by Kate DiCamillo - Teacher's Notes

Revisiting once again the world of Raymie Nightingale, two-time Newbery Medalist Kate DiCamillo turns her focus to the tough-talking, inescapably tenderhearted Beverly. _Beverly put her foot down on the gas. They went faster still. This was what Beverly wanted — what she...

16 May 2018

Children's University

Find out how children can earn Children’s University hours by taking part in the Summer Reading Challenge and Chatterbooks groups.

01 April 2018

The Wonderling by Mira Bartók - Discussion guide

The Wonderling In this extraordinary debut novel with its deft nod to Dickensian heroes and rogues, Mira Bartók tells the story of Arthur, a shy, fox-like foundling with only one ear and a desperate desire to belong, as he seeks...

09 October 2017

The Dollmaker of Krakow by R. M. Romero - Teachers' guide

The Dollmaker of Krakow A timeless fantasy set in the Second World War that weaves together magic, folklore and history, perfect for fans of The Book Thief, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and Goodnight Mister Tom. One night a little...

20 February 2017

World Book Day 2017 Toolkit

Are you wondering how you can support World Book Day 2017? This Toolkit has been designed so that authors, illustrators, publishers, librarians and booksellers can join in with #WorldBookDay20. There are loads of ideas, such as how you could use social...

03 November 2016

Chatterbooks Newsletter

The latest Chatterbooks Newsletter. This November newsletter celebrates National Non-Fiction November.

14 July 2016

Chatterbooks evaluation

A copy of the Chatterbooks annual survey 2015-16 for information only. To complete the survey, click on the link below.

24 May 2016

The Impact of Chatterbooks on Children’s Reading Enjoyment, Behaviours and Attitudes - Executive Summary

Executive Summary of the evaluation report by Clémence Pabion and Christina Clark, National Literacy Trust. The report looks at the impact of Chatterbooks on children’s reading enjoyment, behaviour and attitudes, relating to our Department for Education funded project to establish...

24 May 2016

The Impact of Chatterbooks on Children’s Reading Enjoyment, Behaviours and Attitudes

Evaluation report by Clémence Pabion and Christina Clark, National Literacy Trust. The report looks at the impact of Chatterbooks on children’s reading enjoyment, behaviour and attitudes, relating to our Department for Education funded project to establish KS2 book clubs...