Donate now
Tackling life's big challenges through the proven power of reading

Resources

Sign up » Sign up to the Chatterbooks network and the monthly newsletter

Latest offers » Offers and competitions from children’s publishers

More info » Find out more about Chatterbooks reading clubs for children

Buy Chatterbooks materials » Schools’ starter packs – welcome packs for children and group leaders’ toolkits

06 September 2021

The Amazing Edie Eckhart by Rosie Jones - Classroom Resources

The Amazing Edie Eckhart is the start of a brand-new middle grade series from comedian and writer Rosie Jones, featuring a funny, feisty central character who just happens to have cerebral palsy – like Rosie herself. Rosie was inspired to...

16 March 2021

Circus Maximus by Annelise Gray - Teaching Resources

Welcome to the great Circus Maximus, the most glorious sporting stage in Ancient Rome, where the best horses and charioteers compete in a race to the death, and one girl dreams of glory. Twelve-year-old Dido dreams of becoming the first female...

04 February 2021

February 2021 Children's and Young People booklist - Express Yourself (Children's Mental Health Week)

Place2Be launched the first ever Children’s Mental Health Week in 2015 to shine a spotlight on the importance of children and young people’s mental health. This year’s theme is Express Yourself as expressing yourself is about finding ways to share...

04 December 2020

The Witching Stone by Danny Weston - Digital Pack

UCLan Publishing have created a spooktacular digital pack of videos and discussion points to help you and your pupils enjoy the new YA coming of age horror story from Danny Weston. For Alfie Travers, a summer away from his...

03 March 2020

The Good Hawk by Joseph Elliott - discussion guide and author video

If everything was taken from you, what would you do to get it back? Agatha patrols the sea wall with pride, despite those in her clan who question her right to be there, because of the condition she was born with. Jaime...

21 January 2020

The Monster Writing (A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness) - guide

Walker Books have an exciting creative writing challenge called THE MONSTER CHALLENGE. ‘Stories are important. Stories can be more important than anything. If they carry the truth.’ Patrick Ness, A Monster Calls Are you a young person with a passion for telling...

19 September 2019

Plastic Sucks! You Can Make A Difference - Plastic Sucks Day Guide

How can YOU help save our planet? This awesome and inspiring guide, written by McFly bassist and environmental activist Dougie Poynter, will show you how to get involved in the mission to cut out single-use plastic. Plastic is everywhere and it...

18 September 2019

Beverley, Right Here by Kate DiCamillo - Teacher's Notes

Revisiting once again the world of Raymie Nightingale, two-time Newbery Medalist Kate DiCamillo turns her focus to the tough-talking, inescapably tenderhearted Beverly. _Beverly put her foot down on the gas. They went faster still. This was what Beverly wanted — what she...

01 April 2018

The Wonderling by Mira Bartók - Discussion guide

The Wonderling In this extraordinary debut novel with its deft nod to Dickensian heroes and rogues, Mira Bartók tells the story of Arthur, a shy, fox-like foundling with only one ear and a desperate desire to belong, as he seeks...

09 October 2017

The Dollmaker of Krakow by R. M. Romero - Teachers' guide

The Dollmaker of Krakow A timeless fantasy set in the Second World War that weaves together magic, folklore and history, perfect for fans of The Book Thief, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and Goodnight Mister Tom. One night a little...

20 February 2017

World Book Day 2017 Toolkit

Are you wondering how you can support World Book Day 2017? This Toolkit has been designed so that authors, illustrators, publishers, librarians and booksellers can join in with #WorldBookDay20. There are loads of ideas, such as how you could use social...

03 November 2016

Chatterbooks Newsletter

The latest Chatterbooks Newsletter. This November newsletter celebrates National Non-Fiction November.

31 October 2016

Get to know the Dewey Decimal Classification system

A brief PowerPoint slide show to help you understand how the Dewey Decimal Classification system works in your library

07 July 2016

Chatterbooks Newsletter

You can find out the latest about Chatterbooks by taking a look at our August newsletter.

11 May 2016

Chatterbooks in Primary School Settings - Report

A report from Coventry University’s Centre for Psychology, Behaviour and Achievement who evaluated Chatterbooks in 15 primary schools in the West Midlands, in a project funded by The Mercers’ Charitable Foundation in 2014/2015.