Donate now
Tackling life's big challenges through the proven power of reading

Resources

14 April 2021

The Outlaws Scarlett and Browne by Jonathan Stroud - Discussion Guide

England has been radically changed by a series of catastrophes – large cities have disappeared and London has been replaced by a lagoon. The surviving population exists in fortified towns where they cling to traditional ways, while strangely evolved beasts...

13 April 2021

The Black Friend by Frederick Joseph - Discussion Guide

Speaking directly to the reader, Frederick Joseph offers powerful reflections on his own experiences with racism in The Black Friend: On Being a Better White Person. As a former “token Black kid”, he now presents himself as the friend...

09 April 2021

How to be a Hero by Cat Weldon - activity pack

How to be a Hero by Cat Weldon, illustrated by Katie Kear A no-good Viking thief. The worst-ever trainee Valkyrie. A hilarious case of mistaken identity. When failing trainee Valkyrie Lotta mistakes an unconscious Viking thief, Whetstone, for a fallen hero and...

09 April 2021

Wild World Heroes Clip Art: PNG files

Download clip art for the Summer Reading Challenge 2021. This resource contains PNG files suitable for use on websites and items requiring a transparent background. JPEG files suitable for print materials are available to download at the link below. Please ensure you have...

08 April 2021

Fing by David Walliams - Digital Activity Pack

Meet the Meeks! Myrtle Meek has everything she could possibly want. But everything isn’t enough. She wants more, more, MORE! When Myrtle declares she wants a FING, there’s only one problem… What is a FING? Mr and Mrs Meek will do anything...

26 March 2021

Andersen Press Easter Holiday Fun - activity pack

Andersen Press are continuing their commitment to supporting children and families who will be spending a lot of time at home over the Easter holidays, with a new activity pack featuring resources inspired by new titles. The pack is free...

17 March 2021

What’s the T? by Juno Dawson – Discussion Questions

What’s the T? is the essential guide to help readers aged 14+ discover what it means to be transgender and/or non-binary. From identity and expression to coming out and dating, Juno Dawson offers a frank and funny exploration of life...

16 March 2021

Circus Maximus by Annelise Gray - Teaching Resources

Welcome to the great Circus Maximus, the most glorious sporting stage in Ancient Rome, where the best horses and charioteers compete in a race to the death, and one girl dreams of glory. Twelve-year-old Dido dreams of becoming the first female...

16 March 2021

Bumper pack of activity sheets from OUP Childrens

Oxford University Press Children’s Books are helping you spring into reading with a bumper pack of activity sheets and reading notes. These resources include activities based on brilliant titles such as Victioria Stich, Winnie and Wilbur, Roald Dahl, Pippi Longstocking...

15 March 2021

The Supreme Lie by Geraldine McCaughrean - Discussion Questions

Twice Carnegie medal winning Geraldine McCaughrean’s enthralling new novel is set in a world paralysed by natural disaster and dangerous lies. Fifteen-year-old Gloria is maid to Afalia’s tyrannical Head of State, Madame Suprema. When the country is hit by unprecedented flooding,...

11 March 2021

44 Tiny Secrets and 44 Tiny Acrobats by Sylvia Bishop and Ashley King - Teachers' guides and activity

44 Tiny Secrets is the first book in a heartwarming and timeless new series with a brave and spirited heroine, from the acclaimed duo behind The Bookshop Girl. Betsy Bow-Linnet is determined to become a world famous concert pianist like her...

11 March 2021

Mort the Meek by by Rachel DelaHaye - Book trailer and teachers' guide

The first in a wickedly funny new series about an aspiring pacifist in a brutal kingdom! On Brutalia violence is a way of life. Ravenous ravens circle overhead, monstrous grot bears cause chaos and the streets are bulging with brawls. But...

04 March 2021

Protect the Planet by Jess French - Digital pack

This World Book Day, are you ready to help save our world? In Protect the Planet from DK Books you can discover fascinating facts and practical solutions on what you can do to help solve some of the major problems...

26 February 2021

Toto the Ninja Cat and the Mystery Jewel Thief - Digital Activity Packs

Toto is no ordinary cat, and she can’t wait for you to join her on her fourth ninja adventure! From one of the UK’s best-loved broadcasters, purrfect for fans of The Aristocats, The Secret Life of Pets and Atticus Claw...

26 February 2021

Climate Action by Georgina Stevens and Katie Rewse - digital pack

The future is in our hands This book by Georgina Stevens explains in detail the different causes and effects of climate change and empowers children and families to think of ways to create change and live a more eco-friendly lifestyle. Full...

25 February 2021

Klara and the Sun and Ishiguro backlist promotional pack

Celebrate the publication of Klara and the Sun, the new book from the Booker and Nobel Prize-winning author, Kazuo Ishiguro. This pack contains: • A selection of digital assets, including a stunning animation and social cards featuring quotes from librarians and readers,...

25 February 2021

Children of the Benin Kingdom - Reading Notes and Activities

Ada has lived close to the great rainforest for her whole life, helping her beloved Papa Eze to heal fellow villagers when they fall sick. But when Papa Eze himself becomes unwell he knows it s time to reveal to...

25 February 2021

Fantastically Great Women: Scientists and Their Stories - Digital Activity Pack and Teachers' Notes

Bloomsbury Children’s Books would love to join you in celebrating International Women’s Day and/or International Science Week with a special offer for libraries nationwide! Prepare to be inspired with this fantastically great new series for young readers by the brilliant Kate...

25 February 2021

What Did the Tree See? by Charlotte Guillain and illustrated by Sam Usher – Teacher Resource Pack

One majestic oak has seen it all, and now we can too. “Simple rhyming text matched by beautiful and carefully detailed illustrations offer a delightful history lesson” – Julia Eccleshare, LoveReading4Kids Told in gentle rhyming verse, this beautiful non-fiction picture book follows...

25 February 2021

Become a Reading Spy with Maz Evans’s VI SPY: LICENCE TO CHILL – digital activity resources

To celebrate the arrival of Maz Evans’s VI SPY: LICENCE TO CHILL, the new novel from the author of the bestselling WHO LET THE GODS OUT series, we’ve put together a whole host of VI SPY-themed educational materials – and...

24 February 2021

Oxford Children's Books - Easter themed activity pack

Oxford University Press have created a bundle of Easter themed digital activity sheets containing colouring sheets, arts and crafts, a dress-up doll, a trace and find maze and more! Ballet Bunnies Named as ‘A must for small ballet fans’ by the Guardian,...

24 February 2021

Peppa Loves Reading - Digital Activity Pack

Celebrating the launch of the new book, Peppa Loves Reading, Ladybird is pleased to provide an exciting and engaging resource pack for librarians. With everything little ones love including Peppa puzzles, colouring and drawing, the pack will keep little ones...

23 February 2021

Look Out, Leonard! Activity Sheet

It’s moving day for the Shrew family, so Mrs. Shrew has asked them to all hold on to each other’s tails tightly so that nobody gets lost! They set off in a long line, but wait, where’s little Leonard? Download...

08 February 2021

The Forest of Moon and Sword by Amy Raphael and August Ro - Teachers' Resources

One girl’s fierce journey to save her mother from the fate of the witch trials, with only nature to guide her way. 1647, twelve-year-old Art lives in a small village in Scotland. Her mother has always made potions that cure the...

15 January 2021

The Shark Caller by Zillah Bethell - Resource pack for KS2 Teachers

“I want to be able to call the sharks. Teach me the magic and show me the ways.” Blue Wing is desperate to become a shark caller, but instead she must befriend infuriating newcomer Maple, who arrives unexpectedly on Blue Wing’s...

05 January 2021

Roald & Beatrix: The Tail of the Curious Mouse activity

Lovers of children’s classics are in for a treat with the new film Roald & Beatrix: The Tail of the Curious Mouse, and we have a fun activity resource for families to use to accompany their discussions. Roald and Beatrix,...

18 December 2020

Hope Jones Will Not Eat Meat by Josh Lacey - activity sheets

Hope Jones Will Not Eat Meat by Josh Lacey is the latest book in an inspiring new illustrated fiction series about environmental issues, perfect for readers aged 8+. The books are told in a fun blog format, documenting Hope’s activism...

08 December 2020

There’s a Mouse in My House by Ross Collins - Competition & Digital Activity Pack

The sequel to Ross Collins’ award-winning favourite, There’s a Bear on My Chair, is here! The tables have turned in _There’s a Mouse in My House_… and this time it’s Bear who has an unwelcome guest. This fantastic rhyming picture...

04 December 2020

The Witching Stone by Danny Weston - Digital Pack

UCLan Publishing have created a spooktacular digital pack of videos and discussion points to help you and your pupils enjoy the new YA coming of age horror story from Danny Weston. For Alfie Travers, a summer away from his...

30 November 2020

Honey for You, Honey for Me – Rhymetime digital event pack

Walker Books have created a fantastic digital pack to help you enjoy and share a new rhyming picture book written and illustrated by the incredible duo, Michael Rosen and Chris Riddell! From Children’s Laureates Michael Rosen and Chris Riddell, the bestselling...