Donate now
 

Resources

26 February 2024

Latest opportunities from our publisher partners for schools and libraries

If you have a reading group with children or work in a school or library – we have some fantastic opportunities for you! If you would like some display and activity packs then visit our shop. We also have hundreds...

04 October 2023

All Bodies Are Beautiful - digital resources

A helpful handbook for talking about you! We know that bodies can be tricky to understand, and sometimes you might feel like your body is different. But being different is completely natural – it’s all just science! This comprehensive guide helps children...

28 September 2023

We Are All Astronauts - digital resources

Unlock your inner astronaut and learn all about space in We Are All Astronauts – the first book in a brand-new series from bestselling creator of the Fantastically Great Women series, Kate Pankhurst. Join Luna, Granny and Blast as they journey...

14 September 2023

Sunshine Simpson Cooks Up a Storm - teacher notes and activity sheets

Meet Sunshine Simpson – a brand-new best friend for 9+readers! Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson. More about the book Sunshine Simpson’s life has never been so busy! She feels like she’s on a ROLLERCOSTER. At school everyone is talking about preparing...

22 May 2023

Volunteer Appreciation Certificate (for Scotland) - Ready, Set, Read!

Scottish version for libraries taking part in Scotland. Recognise the hard work of your summer volunteers with a Ready, Set, Read! themed certificate of appreciation. Please note: this is a locked resource for library authorities participating in the Summer Reading Challenge...

26 April 2023

Library Training Presentation: Ready, Set, Read!

Download this training presentation to help with library staff training ahead of the launch of this year’s Summer Reading Challenge: Ready, Set, Read! Please note: this is a locked resource for library authorities participating in the Summer Reading Challenge 2023. Libraries...

29 March 2023

WELSH School Assembly PowerPoint – Ready, Set, Read!

Download this Welsh language school assembly presentation and tell pupils all about this year’s Summer Reading Challenge! The presentation is available in PowerPoint format. Please note, this is the Welsh-language version of this resource. See the link below for the English-language version.

02 March 2023

Gecko Press - publisher spotlight

Gecko Press is an independent, small-by-choice, publisher of children’s books translated from books by some of the best writers and illustrators in the world since 2004. We choose books excellent in story, illustration and design, with a strong heart factor, and...

04 August 2022

Five Minutes Peace downloadable storytelling tips

Parents everywhere will understand the plight of poor Mrs Large. All she wants is five minutes’ peace and quiet away from her boisterous children! So, taking refuge in the bathroom, she fills herself a hot, foamy bubble bath and takes...

05 July 2022

WELSH Communications Toolkit for Library Partners, Summer Reading Challenge 2022

This folder contains a toolkit with assets, suggested Welsh-language social media posts and newsletter copy to help libraries in Wales promote the Summer Reading Challenge. The folder also contains the Gadgeteers character guide, core pack guide, ‘How to take part’ information,...

23 June 2022

Summer Reading Challenge x StoryTrails additional apps and ideas

Additional apps and ideas for StoryTrails x Summer Reading Challenge activities Download Other SRCxST Resources Get Immersive with the Gadgeteers Activity Toolkit Get Immersive with the Gadgeteers Schools Activity Toolkit Welsh Get Immersive with the Gadgeteers Activity Toolkit Welsh Additional Resources and Activities Welsh Get Immersive...

23 June 2022

Summer Reading Challenge x StoryTrails

StoryTrails is a unique, immersive storytelling experience. It aims to allow local people to experience their town in a completely new way through immersive technology, including augmented and virtual reality. People will be able to use this new technology to...

23 June 2022

StoryTrails comms and activity toolkit (libraries nationwide)

The Reading Agency has put together a ‘Summer of Stories’ comms toolkit and activity pack that includes exciting opportunities and training from the project’s partners so that all libraries can benefit from StoryTrails in 2022. Even if you cannot make...

23 June 2022

StoryTrails comms and activity toolkit (15 libraries)

The Reading Agency has put together a ‘Summer of Stories’ comms toolkit and activity pack that includes exciting opportunities and training from the project’s partners so that all libraries can benefit from StoryTrails in 2022. Even if you cannot make...

23 June 2022

StoryTrails comms and activity toolkit (nationwide Wales)

The Reading Agency has put together a ‘Summer of Stories’ comms toolkit and activity pack that includes exciting opportunities and training from the project’s partners so that all libraries can benefit from StoryTrails in 2022. Even if you cannot make...

23 June 2022

StoryTrails comms and activity toolkit (Swansea and Newport)

The Reading Agency has put together a ‘Summer of Stories’ comms toolkit and activity pack that includes exciting opportunities and training from the project’s partners so that all libraries can benefit from StoryTrails in 2022. Even if you cannot make...

26 May 2022

Communications Toolkit for Library Partners, Summer Reading Challenge 2022

This folder contains a toolkit with assets, suggested social media posts and newsletter copy to help libraries promote the Summer Reading Challenge. The folder also contains the Gadgeteers character guide, core pack guide, ‘How to take part’ information, a press...

26 May 2022

Library Training Presentation for Summer Reading Challenge 2022

Download this training presentation to help with library staff training ahead of the launch of this year’s Summer Reading Challenge: Gadgeteers! Please note: this is a locked resource for library authorities participating in the Summer Reading Challenge 2022. Libraries should...

26 May 2022

Gadgeteers Core Pack Guide

This helpful guide contains detailed information about how to use this year’s core pack and transformation stickers. Please note: this is a locked resource for library authorities participating in the Summer Reading Challenge 2022. Libraries should contact their local Summer...

17 March 2022

Quick Reads 2022 toolkit for libraries and bookshops

Please use this toolkit for ideas on how to use and promote Quick Reads. Share this toolkit with colleagues and do get in touch to tell us how you’ve used the books!

01 February 2022

Reading Befriender Training 1 PDF (Welsh)

Reading Befriender PDF of training video 1 in Welsh: What is Reading Friends?

01 February 2022

Reading Befriender Training 3 PDF (Welsh)

Reading Befriender PDF of training video 3 in Welsh: help everyone get involved

01 February 2022

Reading Befriender Training 4 PDF (Welsh)

Reading Befriender PDF of training video 4 in Welsh: What happens next

01 February 2022

Reading Befriender Training 5 PDF (Welsh)

Reading Befriender PDF of training video 1 in Welsh: Distance Befriending Good Practice

21 January 2022

Reading Friends project starter checklist

A handy checklist of things you’ll need to consider when setting up a new Reading Friends project.

01 January 2022

Reading Friends project plan

Keep your Reading Friends project on track day-to-day with this editable plan for your key milestones. Please use Adobe Acrobat Reader to edit.

21 December 2021

Coordinator Training 1: What is Reading Friends? (Welsh)

Coordinator Training Powerpoint Presentation of video 1 – What is Reading Friends?

21 December 2021

Coordinator Training 2: A Reading Friends Session (Welsh)

Coordinator Training: Powerpoint Presentation of video 2 – A Reading Friends Session.

21 December 2021

Coordinator Training 3: Models and Learnings (Welsh)

Coordinator Training: Powerpoint Presentation of video 3 – Models and Learnings.

20 December 2021

Coordinator Training 4: Benefits and Resources (Welsh)

Coordinator Training: Powerpoint Presentation of video 4 – Benefits and Resources.