Resources

08 December 2017

Winter Mini Challenge 2017 with Star Wars - Promotional Posters and Social Media Assets

Coming soon to a galaxy near you…the Winter Mini Challenge with Star Wars! The Winter Mini Challenge is run through the Summer Reading Challenge website (summerreadingchallenge.org.uk). Children are challenged to read three books of their choice during the winter holidays. Adding...

08 December 2017

Winter Mini Challenge 2017 with Star Wars - Certificates

Download this resource and reward Winter Mini Challenge completers with a special Star Wars certificate. The certificate is available in English and in bilingual English & Welsh.

08 December 2017

Winter Mini Challenge 2017 with Star Wars - Activities

Download these Star Wars activity sheets for your library, class or reading group

22 November 2017

Summer Reading Challenge UK Participation Report - Animal Agents 2017

761,758 children took part in the Summer Reading Challenge 2017 across the UK, an increase of 6,550 on the previous year’s total. Here is the national participation report for Animal Agents

22 November 2017

Summer Reading Challenge UK Headline Data - Animal Agents 2017

Here is a summary of the results for Animal Agents, the Summer Reading Challenge 2017, captured in a handy infographic

22 November 2017

Tesco Bank Summer Reading Challenge Scotland Participation Report - Animal Agents 2017

Here is the participation report for Animal Agents, the Tesco Bank Summer Reading Challenge Scotland 2017

22 November 2017

Summer Reading Challenge Wales Participation Report - Animal Agents 2017

Here is the Welsh participation report for Animal Agents, the Summer Reading Challenge 2017, available in English and Welsh.

22 November 2017

Summer Reading Challenge Regional Headline Data - Animal Agents 2017

Here are the regional results for Animal Agents, the Summer Reading Challenge 2017

22 November 2017

Summer Reading Challenge Animal Agents 2017 - Family Survey results

We carried out a participation survey with families taking part in Animal Agents, the Summer Reading Challenge 2017. The results were very positive, demonstrating that families really value and enjoy taking part in the Challenge, and it makes a difference to...

01 November 2017

Chatterbooks Activity Pack - Fact and Information

This Chatterbooks activity pack gives you a treasure chest of wonderful non-fiction titles, plus lots of ideas for activities and discussion with your Chatterbooks groups. Enjoy these bright and vibrant books, full of fascinating information – and celebrate this year’s National...

30 October 2017

I Want to be in a Scary Story by Sean Taylor - A book trailer

I want to be in a Scary Story The stellar duo behind Hoot Owl: Master of Disguise reunites to create a book that will have children (and their parents!) roaring with laughter once again. From the team behind the acclaimed Hoot Owl,...

18 October 2017

The Polar Bear Explorers’ Club - Postcard competition

The Polar Bear Explorers’ Club It sounded like a respectable and worthy enough death for an explorer – tumbling from an ice bridge to be impaled upon a mammoth tusk – but Stella really, really didn’t want that to happen, just...

17 October 2017

Wonder - library activity pack including 'Ways to be 'WONDERful' checklist competition

Wonder ‘My name is August. I won’t describe what I look like. Whatever you’re thinking, it’s probably worse.’ R. J. Palacio’s Wonder is the unforgettable story of August Pullman, an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face. It is a funny and frank...

17 October 2017

We're All Wonders - library activity pack and colouring competition

We’re all Wonders “I know I can’t change the way I look. But maybe, just maybe, people can change the way they see . . .” Wonder is the unforgettable story of August Pullman and has become a modern classic that has...

17 October 2017

Father Christmas and Me - Christmas bauble competition

Get into the festive spirit by winning a £30 National Book Tokens card and one of FOUR signed books! Father Christmas and Me is the third book in bestselling Matt Haig’s Christmassy series, with enchanting illustrations by Chris Mould. Following...

16 October 2017

Linwood Barclay’s Secret Mission digital resources

Linwood Barclay’s Secret Mission – CHASE Hachette Children’s Group and Orion Books are celebrating the publication of Linwood Barclay’s first novel for children, CHASE, and his new paperback, Parting Shot, by providing these great digital resources for libraries. Hachette Children’s Group and...

13 October 2017

Winnie and Wilbur 30th birthday activity pack

Winnie and Wilbur Friday 13 October is the 30th birthday of the brilliant Winnie and Wilbur series created by Valerie Thomas and Korky Paul. To celebrate this, Oxford University Press Children’s books have sent us a pack with many activity sheets and...

10 October 2017

Pick a Pine Tree by Patricia Toht - A book trailer and craft activity

Pick a Pine Tree Pick a pine tree from the lot – slim and tall, or short and squat! Long straight limbs or branches bent – Mmm! Just smell that piney scent! From Alan’s Big, Scary Teeth creator, Jarvis, and author Patty...

09 October 2017

The Wonderling - Discussion guide

The Wonderling In this extraordinary debut novel with its deft nod to Dickensian heroes and rogues, Mira Bartók tells the story of Arthur, a shy, fox-like foundling with only one ear and a desperate desire to belong, as he seeks...

09 October 2017

The Dollmaker of Krakow by R. M. Romero - Teachers' guide

The Dollmaker of Krakow A timeless fantasy set in the Second World War that weaves together magic, folklore and history, perfect for fans of The Book Thief, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and Goodnight Mister Tom. One night a little...

09 October 2017

Follow the Track All the Way Back by Timothy Knapman - A book trailer

Follow the Track All the Way Back Today is a BIG day for little Train … he’s going out on the track, all by himself, for the very first time! From Ben Mantle and Timothy Knapman, the author of Soon and Time...

06 October 2017

The Polar Bear Explorers’ Club - Colour in the scene activity

The Polar Bear Explorers’ Club A gorgeously imaginative and snowy middle grade fantasy adventure combining the magic of Peter Pan, the chaos of A Series of Unfortunate Events, and the thrilling icy adventure of Northern Lights. You can read a review from...

06 October 2017

The Polar Bear Explorers’ Club - Drawing activity

The Polar Bear Explorers’ Club _All of a sudden, the sled rose up over the crest of a hill – and they came face to face with a white, sparkling, magnificent castle. Countless spires and turrets rose up high into the sky,...

06 October 2017

The Polar Bear Explorers’ Club - Design your very own crest

Stella joins the Polar Bear Explorers’ Club, Ethan is in the Ocean Squid club. Download this activity sheet and invent your own Explorers’ Club and design a crest below.

06 October 2017

The Polar Bear Explorers’ Club - Make an igloo craft activity

The Polar Bear Explorers’ Club It sounded like a respectable and worthy enough death for an explorer – tumbling from an ice bridge to be impaled upon a mammoth tusk – but Stella really, really didn’t want that to happen, just...

05 October 2017

Witches and Wizards Chatterbooks Activity Pack

Get in the mood for Halloween with this month’s Witches & Wizards Chatterbooks Activity Pack. There are activities, discussion questions and further reading, inspired by our favourite magical characters.

04 October 2017

Amazing Animals Chatterbooks pack

As it is #WorldAnimalDay we are highlighting a brilliant Amazing Animals Chatterbooks pack that we have. Here are some great stories and picture books about all kinds of animals, plus ideas for activities in your Chatterbooks reading group. Download the pack and...

04 October 2017

Witch for a Week - a brilliant book trailer

Witch for a Week Here is a trailer for a new magical adventure from Kaye Umansky, the bestselling author of the much loved children’s classic Pongwiffy. The book is all about Elsie Pickles and is brought to life with charming illustrations...

29 September 2017

Luna Loves Library Day - reviews activity

Award-winning performance poet Joseph Coehlo has written his first picture book Luna Loves Library Day, illustrated by Fiona Lumbers, publishing this October. This lovely book is based around Luna loving her special time in the library. What better way to engage...

29 September 2017

Luna Loves Library Day - wordearch activity sheet

National Libraries Week (9-14 October) is a chance to discover the range of things you can do at your library, from play and learning for children, to managing your health, to accessing wifi and games, to finding a job, a...