Donate now
Tackling life's big challenges through the proven power of reading

Resources

09 November 2018

Santa Claus vs The Easter Bunny by Fred Blunt - An activity pack and competition

Who will win, Santa or The Easter Bunny? Get a peek behind the scenes and find out how the holidays really happen in Fred Blunt’s brilliant new picture book Santa Claus VS The Easter Bunny! The book follows what happens when...

07 November 2018

The Reading Agency booklists for ESOL learners

Here are two booklists compiled as part of the Reading Ahead with ESOL in prisons project funded by The Bell Foundation together with some guidance provided by NATECLA. These are useful for anyone working with young people and adults with...

07 November 2018

Words and Memories: Creative writing by ESOL learners

This collection of writing by prisoners whose first language is not English was produced over the course of six workshops in three UK prisons – HMP Downview, HMP High Down and HMP Thameside – between May and July 2018. ...

07 November 2018

ESOL Creative writing in prison materials pack

This is a pack of guidance for anyone wanting to run a creative writing workshop with prisoners whose first language is not English. It includes a powerpoint, notes for workshop leaders, guidance for workshop assistants and several handouts for...

07 November 2018

Creative activities for using with Reading Ahead for prisoners with ESOL

These seven documents provide a wide range of activities for using alongside Reading Ahead for prisoners with English as a Second Language or Additional Language. They have been created by David Kendall as part of a project funded by...

02 November 2018

A Darkness of Dragons - Teacher resource and activity pack

A Darkness of Dragons In a world of dragons, song spells, pipers and battles… Patch Brightwater is a boy in disgrace. Thrown in jail for playing a forbidden spell, he is no one’s idea of a hero. But then he discovers a...

02 November 2018

A Society of Readers - executive summary

A new report that we commissioned from leading independent think tank Demos lays out the central role reading must play in helping to address many of the most pressing challenges British society will face over the next decade. Read the...

02 November 2018

A Society of Readers

A new report lays out the central role reading must play in helping to address many of the most pressing challenges British society will face over the next decade. Read the full report and share your thoughts on Twitter and...

31 October 2018

2017/18 Evaluation of Reading Well

2017-18 evaluation of Reading Well Books on Prescription. Research and evaluation completed by BOP consulting.

30 October 2018

Non-Fiction Info Challenge - Chatterbooks Activity Pack

November is Non-Fiction month so we have selected some of our favourite, recent non-fiction books to create an activity pack – perfect for your Chatterbooks sessions. Each of the six books has a discussion question and activity and there are plenty...

30 October 2018

Children and Young People booklist - Non-Fiction

November is National Non-Fiction month so we have loved creating a list of some of our favourite Non-fiction books. We have picked some of the best books to help get children and young people interested or inspired to try new...

30 October 2018

Have a Matt-gical Christmas with Matt Haig and Chris Mould - activity and POS pack

Canongate are here to help you have a Matt-gical Christmas! Discover the wonderful Christmas series by number one bestselling author Matt Haig, featuring enchanting illustrations from Chris Mould. Journey into Elfhelm and you’ll find out the TRUTH about Father Christmas and...

24 October 2018

Julius Zebra: Grapple with the Greeks by Gary Northfield - a video

Julius Zebra: Grapple with the Greeks The fourth title in Gary Northfield’s exciting, action-packed and hysterically funny series brimming with entertaining Greek facts. In the much-anticipated fourth Julius Zebra book, Grapple with the Greeks!, demi-god Heracles promises Julius and his chums a...

24 October 2018

Get Coding 2! by David Whitney and Duncan Beedie - Get Coding Pack

Are you ready to get coding? Want to take your coding further and learn how to programme popular games such as Snake and Endless Runners? Then join the Lucky Cat Club in Get Coding 2! by David Whitney and Duncan Beedie,...

24 October 2018

Get Coding 2! by David Whitney and Duncan Beedie - Event Poster

Are you ready to get coding? Want to take your coding further and learn how to programme popular games such as Snake and Endless Runners? Then join the Lucky Cat Club in Get Coding 2! by David Whitney and Duncan Beedie,...

16 October 2018

Skycircus by Peter Bunzl - Activity sheets

Skycircus by Peter Bunzl Roll up roll up! Calamity and courage meet in this Victorian showstopper bursting with invention and adventure. Perfect for fans of The Greatest Showman and Mortal Engines. When a travelling skycircus arrives in Brackenbridge, Lily and Robert...

09 October 2018

Reading Well Mood-boosting Books list 2018 - Libraries Pack

Our Reading Well Mood-boosting Books scheme is a national promotion of uplifting titles, including novels, poetry and non-fiction. The books are recommended by readers and reading groups around the country. This pack contains the full Mood-Boosting Books 2018 list, a book...

04 October 2018

Children and Young People booklist - Spine-tinglers

Children and Young People booklist for October 2018 Spine-tinglers This month we have selected our favourite Spine-tinglers and Spooky Stories. What does ‘spine-tingling’ mean to you? Often we first of all think ‘scary’ – something that will make us shiver with fear –...

04 October 2018

Spine-tinglers Chatterbooks Activity Pack

Here is our Spine-tinglers Chatterbooks pack. It is filled with activities based upon Spine-tinglers and Spooky Stories. What does ‘spine-tingling’ mean to you? Often we first of all think ‘scary’ – something that will make us shiver with fear – but...

02 October 2018

Little Leaders: Bold Women in Black History by Vashti Harrison - Activity Pack and competition

Little Leaders Meet the Little Leaders. They’re brave. They’re bold. They changed the world! Author and Illustrator Vashti Harrison’s book Little Leaders: Bold Women in Black History features 40 trailblazing black women in the world’s history. This book educates and inspires...

01 October 2018

Winter Mini Challenge 2018 - Promotional assets

This year we are thrilled to be joining forces with our publisher partner Nosy Crow to run a very special and seasonal There’s A Yeti In The Playground themed Mini Challenge. There’s A Yeti In The Playground is filled with laugh-out-loud...

01 October 2018

School Participation Certificate

Libraries can download this special certificate to award to schools taking part in Mischief Makers 2018. Please note this is a locked resource for library authorities participating in the Summer Reading Challenge

01 October 2018

Summer Reading Challenge 2018: Coordinator Newsletter Archive

Think you’ve missed an update from the Summer Reading Challenge team? Follow the links in this resource to catch up on our latest coordinator newsletters. Please note: this is a locked resource for library authorities participating in the 2018 Summer Reading...

26 September 2018

Night of the Living Ted by Barry Hutchison - Library Competition

Night of the Living Ted Competition Create-a-Ted! Draw your own Teddy at a Teddy Bear’s Picnic. When Lisa Marie and her step-brother Vernon pop into town to get their dad a birthday present, they discover the Create-a-Ted shop is offering free Halloween...

26 September 2018

We Are Together by Britta Teckentrup - Activity and Library Competition

We Are Together Competition Continuing with their commitment to publishing diverse and inclusive books for children of all ages, Little Tiger Group presents the latest peep-through, richly illustrated picture book from Britta Teckentrup, We Are Together. To support the book’s themes of...

25 September 2018

Eve and The Mermaid’s Tears by Jess Black - Activity Pack

Eve and The Mermaid’s Tears Keeper of the Crystals is an adventure fantasy series full of secrets and mystery. Eve discovers she can harness the power of magic crystals she finds, giving her the ability to open portals to other worlds....

24 September 2018

Ella on the Outside by Cath Howe - Lesson plans and activity ideas

About this pack Ella on the Outside is the first children’s book by KS2 teacher, Cath Howe. These lesson and activity ideas have been created to encourage discussion around the book’s themes in the classroom. They cover important PSHE, literacy and poetry objectives,...

19 September 2018

Reading Ahead 2017-18 Evaluation Report

This reports on the impact of Reading Ahead 2017-18 on participants and participating organisations. It is based on survey returns from individual participants and from public libraries, learning providers, prisons and workplaces taking part in the programme.

14 September 2018

The Wishing-Chair by Enid Blyton - Activity Pack and Competition

Egmont are celebrating the brand new rejackets of the classic The Wishing List adventure stories from the world’s best-loved children’s author, Enid Blyton. The stunning new covers have been designed by Mark Beech. They have created a fantastic activity pack –...

13 September 2018

The Lost Words by Robert Macfarlane - an Activity Pack

The Lost Words The Lost Words stands against the disappearance of wild childhood. It is a joyful celebration of nature words and the natural world they invoke. With acrostic spell-poems by award-winning writer Robert Macfarlane and hand-painted illustration by Jackie...