Donate now
Tackling life's big challenges through the proven power of reading

Resources

10 May 2021

Latest opportunities from our publisher partners for schools and libraries

If you have a reading group with children or work in a school or library – we have some fantastic opportunities for you! There are Read and Review opportunities where you have a chance of receiving 10 copies of a...

28 April 2021

The Usborne Unworry Pack

The Usborne Unworry Pack is a collection of fun, mindful activities to help children and adults UNWORRY. It’s full of things to calm you down and distract you, and places where you can put your worries, instead of letting them...

26 April 2021

Amber Undercover by Em Norry - activity pack

I’m Amber Roberts. Just your average teenager. Life revolves around school and my best mate, Vi. Nothing too dramatic, and certainly nothing dangerous. _Well. That’s how things used to be. But now, my life is way more complicated: Mum and Dad...

25 April 2021

How to be a Hero by Cat Weldon - activity pack

How to be a Hero by Cat Weldon, illustrated by Katie Kear A no-good Viking thief. The worst-ever trainee Valkyrie. A hilarious case of mistaken identity. When failing trainee Valkyrie Lotta mistakes an unconscious Viking thief, Whetstone, for a fallen hero and...

23 April 2021

Read, Talk, Share Bloomsbury reading list

Bloomsbury has put together a list of fiction and non-fiction books that deal with loneliness and mental health issues, as well as other fiction titles that can help bring people together and spark conversations in Reading Friends sessions. This book...

21 April 2021

Elmer Day 2021 digital pack

Get ready for the most colourful day of the year! Elmer Day returns on Saturday 29 May 2021. Elmer makes the world a much brighter place. So for this year’s Elmer Day celebrations Andersen Press are spreading the positivity of Elmer...

14 April 2021

The Outlaws Scarlett and Browne by Jonathan Stroud - Discussion Guide

England has been radically changed by a series of catastrophes – large cities have disappeared and London has been replaced by a lagoon. The surviving population exists in fortified towns where they cling to traditional ways, while strangely evolved beasts...

13 April 2021

The Black Friend by Frederick Joseph - Discussion Guide

Speaking directly to the reader, Frederick Joseph offers powerful reflections on his own experiences with racism in The Black Friend: On Being a Better White Person. As a former “token Black kid”, he now presents himself as the friend...

09 April 2021

Wild World Heroes Clip Art: PNG files

Download clip art for the Summer Reading Challenge 2021. This resource contains PNG files suitable for use on websites and items requiring a transparent background. JPEG files suitable for print materials are available to download at the link below. Please ensure you have...

08 April 2021

The Strawberry Thief Reading Group Guide

If you are reading The Strawberry Thief as part of a reading group, here are some questions and resources to help get you started created by the author Joanne Harris. Warning: questions may contain spoilers!

08 April 2021

Reading Friends Telephone Session Plan: Clothes

One idea of what a telephone reading befriending session with the theme of clothes could look like.

08 April 2021

Fing by David Walliams - Digital Activity Pack

Meet the Meeks! Myrtle Meek has everything she could possibly want. But everything isn’t enough. She wants more, more, MORE! When Myrtle declares she wants a FING, there’s only one problem… What is a FING? Mr and Mrs Meek will do anything...

06 April 2021

Reading Friends 'Not Quite Nice' session plan

Ideas for a Reading Friends session based on Celia Imrie’s novel, ‘Not Quite Nice’. This session plan includes a synopsis and questions for discussion.

29 March 2021

Reading Friends Telephone Session Plan: Gardens

One idea of what a telephone reading befriending session with the theme of gardens could look like.

29 March 2021

Reading Friends Telephone Session Plan: Holidays

One idea of what a telephone reading befriending session with the theme of holidays could look like.

26 March 2021

Andersen Press Easter Holiday Fun - activity pack

Andersen Press are continuing their commitment to supporting children and families who will be spending a lot of time at home over the Easter holidays, with a new activity pack featuring resources inspired by new titles. The pack is free...

26 March 2021

Reading Friends Tips for Managing Group Dynamics

This resource contains tips about managing group dynamics in a Reading Friends session.

17 March 2021

What’s the T? by Juno Dawson – Discussion Questions

What’s the T? is the essential guide to help readers aged 14+ discover what it means to be transgender and/or non-binary. From identity and expression to coming out and dating, Juno Dawson offers a frank and funny exploration of life...

17 March 2021

Reading Friends Tips for New and Prospective Parents

This resource contains tips for running Reading Friends with new and prospective parents.

16 March 2021

Circus Maximus by Annelise Gray - Teaching Resources

Welcome to the great Circus Maximus, the most glorious sporting stage in Ancient Rome, where the best horses and charioteers compete in a race to the death, and one girl dreams of glory. Twelve-year-old Dido dreams of becoming the first female...

16 March 2021

Bumper pack of activity sheets from OUP Childrens

Oxford University Press Children’s Books are helping you spring into reading with a bumper pack of activity sheets and reading notes. These resources include activities based on brilliant titles such as Victioria Stich, Winnie and Wilbur, Roald Dahl, Pippi Longstocking...

15 March 2021

The Supreme Lie by Geraldine McCaughrean - Discussion Questions

Twice Carnegie medal winning Geraldine McCaughrean’s enthralling new novel is set in a world paralysed by natural disaster and dangerous lies. Fifteen-year-old Gloria is maid to Afalia’s tyrannical Head of State, Madame Suprema. When the country is hit by unprecedented flooding,...

11 March 2021

44 Tiny Secrets and 44 Tiny Acrobats by Sylvia Bishop and Ashley King - Teachers' guides and activity

44 Tiny Secrets is the first book in a heartwarming and timeless new series with a brave and spirited heroine, from the acclaimed duo behind The Bookshop Girl. Betsy Bow-Linnet is determined to become a world famous concert pianist like her...

11 March 2021

Mort the Meek by by Rachel DelaHaye - Book trailer and teachers' guide

The first in a wickedly funny new series about an aspiring pacifist in a brutal kingdom! On Brutalia violence is a way of life. Ravenous ravens circle overhead, monstrous grot bears cause chaos and the streets are bulging with brawls. But...

04 March 2021

Protect the Planet by Jess French - Digital pack

This World Book Day, are you ready to help save our world? In Protect the Planet from DK Books you can discover fascinating facts and practical solutions on what you can do to help solve some of the major problems...

26 February 2021

Toto the Ninja Cat and the Mystery Jewel Thief - Digital Activity Packs

Toto is no ordinary cat, and she can’t wait for you to join her on her fourth ninja adventure! From one of the UK’s best-loved broadcasters, purrfect for fans of The Aristocats, The Secret Life of Pets and Atticus Claw...

26 February 2021

Climate Action by Georgina Stevens and Katie Rewse - digital pack

The future is in our hands This book by Georgina Stevens explains in detail the different causes and effects of climate change and empowers children and families to think of ways to create change and live a more eco-friendly lifestyle. Full...

25 February 2021

Klara and the Sun and Ishiguro backlist promotional pack

Celebrate the publication of Klara and the Sun, the new book from the Booker and Nobel Prize-winning author, Kazuo Ishiguro. This pack contains: • A selection of digital assets, including a stunning animation and social cards featuring quotes from librarians and readers,...

25 February 2021

Children of the Benin Kingdom - Reading Notes and Activities

Ada has lived close to the great rainforest for her whole life, helping her beloved Papa Eze to heal fellow villagers when they fall sick. But when Papa Eze himself becomes unwell he knows it s time to reveal to...

25 February 2021

Fantastically Great Women: Scientists and Their Stories - Digital Activity Pack and Teachers' Notes

Bloomsbury Children’s Books would love to join you in celebrating International Women’s Day and/or International Science Week with a special offer for libraries nationwide! Prepare to be inspired with this fantastically great new series for young readers by the brilliant Kate...