Donate now
Tackling life's big challenges through the proven power of reading

Resources

27 March 2020

Leonard and Hungry Paul by Rónán Hession - First Chapter

Leonard and Hungry Paul are two friends who see the world differently. They use humour, board games and silence to steer their way through the maelstrom that is the 21st century. ‘The figure in Munch’s painting isn’t actually screaming!’ Hungry Paul...

27 March 2020

Golden Child by Claire Adam - First Chapter

It’s dark now; the bats are out. Insects knock against the light on the patio and the dog sits at the gate. A boy has not returned home and a family anxiously awaits. A father steps out into the night...

27 March 2020

Penned By A Prisoner Drawing Challenge 1

Drawing challenge for those who struggle with literacy and/ or prefer art created by HMP Brixton. Tweet #PennedByAPrisoner to share art.

27 March 2020

Penned By A Prisoner Daily Writing Challenge (days 1-10)

Resources for days 1 – 10 of the Penned By A Prisoner daily writing challenge created by HMP Brixton. Tweet #PennedByAPrisoner to share writing.

26 March 2020

Dear Earth - letter writing activity

Little Tiger Press are highlighting the fragility and wonder of our world with their brilliant Dear Earth campaign, which offers a fantastic way to link together picture book aged readers and this year’s Earth Day on 22 April. They would...

26 March 2020

Covid-19 Toolkit to Stay Connected

We know many of our partners have had to close their buildings and are working remotely. We want to share our resources and ideas that will help us all stay connected.

26 March 2020

We're Going on a Bear Hunt - celebrating 30 years

*We’re going on a bear hunt. We’re going to catch a big one. Will you come too?* We’re Going on a Bear Hunt, the classic chant-aloud by Michael Rosen and Helen Oxenbury, started a publishing phenomenon 30 years ago with readers swishy-swashying and...

26 March 2020

All the World's a Stage Chatterbooks pack

The 27 March is World Theatre Day and to celebrate we have created a Chatterbooks pack with six of our favourite children’s books which have provided inspiration for theatre productions. You can find out more about some of our picks on...

25 March 2020

There’s a Rang-tan in My Bedroom - supporting resources and activity sheets

Teach children about the plight of the orangutan and the dangers of deforestation in, There’s a Rang-tan in My Bedroom, the timely and beautiful picture book by James Sellick and Frann Preston-Gannon. Hachette Children’s Group have got lots of excellent...

25 March 2020

Freddie's Amazing Bakery - recipes and activities

Freddie Bonbon is sweet by name and sweet by nature. He’s also THE BEST baker in Belville and always around to lend a hand too. Stories that are full of fun with gorgeous illustrations throughout, Freddie is a likeable and positive...

25 March 2020

The Infinite - Teacher Resource Pack

About the Book Leaplings, children born on the 29th of February, are very rare. Rarer still are Leaplings with The Gift – the ability to leap through time. Elle Bíbi-Imbelé Ifíè has The Gift, but she’s never used it. Until now. On...

24 March 2020

Lenny Makes a Wish - Reading Notes

When Lenny the rabbit spots a lonely fish in a pond, they soon become friends. But will their friendship survive, when Lenny lives on land and his friend lives in water? A heart-warming story about the enduring power of friendship....

24 March 2020

Attack of the Smart Speakers - Reading Notes

There’s a new craze in town for smart speakers and everyone has got one. At first they seem super helpful, but Tyler and her friends soon start to get suspicious. It’s like these virtual assistants are really the ones in...

20 March 2020

Different ways to Stay Connected!

Guidance about the different ways to continue Reading Friends. Please share your ideas.

20 March 2020

Stay Connected! Activities, ideas and resources

Ideas of activities and resources to help during this changing and challenging time. Please share ideas with us.

20 March 2020

Stay Connected! Reading Suggestions

Ideas of useful reading materials. Please share any ideas you have.

20 March 2020

Stay Connected! Signposting

Details and links of other useful organisations including mental health contact details. Please share ideas any further ideas with us. It can be useful to bring this off for any volunteers and staff to keep.

20 March 2020

Stay Connected! Wellbeing and Mental Health

Links and ideas for making sure to look after your wellbeing and mental health.

20 March 2020

Top Tips for Living in Self-Isolation

Think Positive, Be Healthy and Keep Busy with our top tips for living in self-isolation

18 March 2020

Reading Well Wales: Adaptable PowerPoint presentation

An adaptable PowerPoint presentation for advocacy of Reading Well Books on Prescription in local health and social care settings. Contains key information about the scheme, including the how it works in libraries, the development process, and evaluation findings.

14 March 2020

Reading Friends Don't Judge a Book by its Cover: Resources Pack

This pack provides further materials to use alongside the session idea Don’t Judge a Book by its Cover.

13 March 2020

Reading Friends Don't Judge a Book by its Cover: Session Idea

A plan for a book jacket themed Reading Friends session including things to look at and talk about.

13 March 2020

Quick Reads Evaluation flyers

Please download these printable flyers and display them by your Quick Reads or on your issue desk. We want to hear from as many readers as possible. If you have read a Quick Read this year, or previously, please fill out...

13 March 2020

Quick Reads Evaluation poster

Please download this poster and and display it by your Quick Reads. We want to hear from as many readers as possible. If you have read a Quick Read this year, or previously, please fill out our survey and let us...

12 March 2020

Reading Friends Spring: Resource Pack

This pack provides further materials to use alongside the session idea Spring.

11 March 2020

Would You Like a Banana? - Activity Sheet

Award-winning illustrator Yasmeen Ismail’s delightfully funny picture book featuring a very stubborn gorilla will have the whole family laughing! Gorilla is hungry but there is absolutely no way he’s going to eat a banana. Not even a teeny taste. Not with...

11 March 2020

The Threads of Magic - Teachers' Notes

An atmospheric and riveting fantasy adventure, perfect for fans of Frances Hardinge and Cornelia Funke. Pip lives on his wits in the city of Clarel. When he pickpockets the wrong man, he finds himself in possession of a strange object –...

11 March 2020

Not an Alphabet Book: The Case of the Missing Cake - Activity Sheets

A graphic, bright, imaginative alphabet book, with a smart and laugh-out-loud whodunit twist. This was meant to be a simple alphabet book but something has happened. Something horrible. The most terrible crime! The world’s most completely delicious, tongue-jinglingly, chocolaty cake has...

11 March 2020

Reading Friends Spring: Session Idea

A plan for a spring-themed Reading Friends session including things to read, look at and talk about.

10 March 2020

Alex Rider 20th Anniversary - Activity Sheets

CELEBRATE THE 20TH ANNIVERSARY OF THE NUMBER ONE BESTSELLING SERIES! Encourage pupils to become READING SPIES and to take their writing to the next level with the Alex Rider series by Anthony Horowitz – suitable for children ages 9+. The pack is...