Donate now
Tackling life's big challenges through the proven power of reading

Resources

02 July 2020

The Kid Who Came From Space by Ross Welford - Teachers' Notes

The stunning new 10+ story from the bestselling and award-winning author of TIME TRAVELLING WITH A HAMSTER, for anyone who loved the humour of WALL-E, the action of STAR WARS and the deeply touching emotion of ET. A small village in...

02 July 2020

July 2020 - The Great Outdoors booklist for children and young people

This month our booklist is about books that immerse a reader in an environment, where the setting plays an important part to the plot or shows the beauty of nature. We’ve picked some brilliant poetry, picture books, non-fiction and chapter...

01 July 2020

Silly Squad Activity Sheet: Colouring in and Wordsearch page

This sheet includes a colouring activity and an author wordsearch With thanks to Islington Council

23 June 2020

Stay-at-home with Football School - writing competition

A shout out to all sports fans aged 7-12! Do you dream of becoming a sportswriter, commentator or sports presenter in the future? Then this competition could help you reach your goal! The Guardian has teamed up with the...

18 June 2020

How reading can promote writing for pleasure article

We believe that through reading a wide variety of books and texts, children can improve their vocabulary and grow more confident with their own writing ability. To help you with this, we have collated a host of resources and useful...

12 June 2020

Boys and Kids Who Dare to be Different - activity packs, audio extracts and journal

Stories for Boys who Dare to be Different is a beautiful and inspiring collection of stories about boys who changed the world without killing a single dragon or saving a single princess. Stories for Kids who Dare to be Different...

12 June 2020

Starfell by Dominique Valente and Sarah Warburton - Digital Activity Pack

Step into the magical world of Starfell in the most spellbinding children’s fantasy series of the year! With beautiful illustrations by Sarah Warburton, Dominique Valente’s Starfell is perfect for fans of Cressida Cowell and Nevermoor. Willow Moss, the youngest and least...

10 June 2020

How to host a virtual book club with your class article

Are you wondering how your reading group can continue to meet, even while you’re social distancing? With so many children and families at home, we know that books are so important to provide comfort, solace and escapism. Staying connected and keeping your...

10 June 2020

Why reading for pleasure is vital and how to encourage your students to read for enjoyment article

This article shares some of the research that outlines the importance of reading for pleasure as well as some ideas to promote reading for pleasure in your school. Make sure you visit our School Zone on the Summer Reading Challenge website...

10 June 2020

How schools can get involved with Summer Reading Challenge 2020 article

The Summer Reading Challenge, presented by The Reading Agency and funded by Arts Council England, encourages children aged 4 to 11 to set themselves a reading challenge to help prevent the summer reading ‘dip’. For the Summer Reading Challenge 2020, we are...

10 June 2020

Silly Squad Activity Sheet: Join the Squad

Children can draw themselves as part of the Silly Squad with this activity sheet poster

10 June 2020

Attack of the Heebie Jeebies by Tom Percival - Chapter 2 Discussion Notes

Meet the Dream Team! Turning nightmares into incredible adventures! Erika’s had a bad day. But going to sleep upset means bad dreams. She finds herself stranded in the Dreamscape along with a mob of hungry Heebie Jeebies – and to make...

10 June 2020

Attack of the Heebie Jeebies by Tom Percival - Chapter 1 Discussion Notes

Attack of the Heebie Jeebies is the first in a fun and engaging series from Tom Percival, the Carnegie nominated author and illustrator. This series explores anxiety in children through action and adventure. Erika’s had a bad day. But going to...

04 June 2020

June 2020 - Pride booklist for children and young people

June is Pride Month, so it is the perfect time to share our favourite LGBTQ+ positive books for children and young people. These books highlight family dynamics and stories to help develop the values of acceptance and kindness towards themselves...

04 June 2020

Parents and carers - get involved guide for Reading Well

A guide for parents and carers who want to support children and young people with Reading Well.

04 June 2020

June 2020 - Brilliant Books to Share booklist for children

Due to the disruption caused by Covid-19 and the impact of social distancing, sharing books at home has never been more important. To help, we have created a list of some of our favourite books to read with children. We’ve...

04 June 2020

Kiran Millwood Hargrave reading notes, videos and activities

Kiran Millwood Hargrave is the author of three Chicken House novels – The Girl of Ink & Stars, The Island at the End of Everything and The Way Past Winter. Between them, her children’s books have won numerous awards including...

04 June 2020

Who Let the Gods Out? reading notes, videos and activities

Maz is the author of the bestselling middle-grade series Who Let the Gods Out? – perfect for ages eight and up. The relentless and fast-paced series comprises four books, and is full to bursting with Ancient Greek mythology, adventure and...

03 June 2020

Beetle Boy reading notes, videos and activities

M. G. Leonard is the author of Beetle Boy, Beetle Queen and Battle of the Beetles – a middle-grade series that is ideal for children aged eight and up. Grounded in entomology, the Beetle Boy series is mysterious, thrilling, and...

01 June 2020

Funny Fiction Chatterbooks activity pack

Ahead of this year’s Summer Reading Challenge when we will all get silly we’re celebrating all things funny. Here’s our Funny Fiction Chatterbooks pack with a bumper collection of some of the latest funny books for children…and some old favourites....

19 May 2020

This Is Going To Hurt: Diary Writing Challenge

This activity sheet has been designed for use alongside reading the Quick Reads version of Adam Kay’s This Is Going To Hurt. It provides inspiration and a framework for starting a diary.

14 May 2020

The Dinoteks - Reading Notes and Activities

The Dinoteks by NS Blackman is a beautifully illustrated chapter book for young readers and an excellent read aloud story for families and teachers to share. It is proven to encourage reading for pleasure in both reluctant and enthusiastic readers. The...

30 April 2020

The Reading Agency Hub

Here you can access The Reading Agency at home. You’ll find ideas, activities and challenges from across our programmes to entertain and educate yourself, your family or those you are teaching remotely. The activities will be refreshed every couple of weeks...

15 April 2020

Free Nosy Crow books, activities and resources

Nosy Crow is offering an exciting range of activities, teaching resources, free books and other content to keep children busy, inspired and entertained. Activities, Quizzes and Teaching Resources Download a brilliant range of engaging activities, craft ideas and puzzles for children of...

15 April 2020

A Moon Girl Stole My Friend - activity pack

Imagine that it’s 2099 and the world looks very different! Download this pack and get busy designing technology and clothing for the future in these activities inspired by Rebecca Patterson’s funny futuristic young fiction books, A Moon Girl Stole My...

15 April 2020

The Little Island - teaching notes

These teaching notes for The Little Island by Smriti Prasadam-Halls and Robert Starling have been written by the teachers at the CLPE. The concepts in the book and these resources are more suitable for children aged 7+.

15 April 2020

Animal colouring sheets

Get creative with these colouring sheets inspired by three brand new picture books, all published this month: Clem and Crab by Fiona Lumbers, Super Sloth by Robert Starling and A Fox Called Herbert by Margaret Sturton

15 April 2020

Extraordinary - reading notes and activities

A gentle tale about reaching for the stars and being extraordinary . . . but remembering the ordinary too. Extraordinary celebrates the best moments in life: the ones we share with friends and family. They may be simple, they may be...

15 April 2020

Bear Was There - reading notes and activities

Love is the first thing Mouse feels as he lies in the warmth of his mother’s fur. Then one day, Mouse meets Bear. Mouse is frightened, but what if Bear is not as scary as he seems . . . A gentle and...

15 April 2020

Under the Same Sky - reading notes and activities

Two children on opposite sides of the world crave friendship. Is it possible to be friends across the miles? Under the Same Sky is a gorgeous picture book that features two children from diverse backgrounds. The book introduces children to the...