Donate now
 

Resources

09 March 2022

'The Coffin Club' Reading Guide

Dive deeper into the themes of the The Coffin Club with this discussion guide for your reading group. About the Book Some people would kill for a second chance. Kat is rebuilding her life. After losing her husband in a tragic accident,...

09 March 2022

'Build Your House Around My Body' Reading Guide

Longlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction 2022, Build Your House Around My Body is an unforgettable debut that hurtles through the ghostly secrets of Vietnamese history. This reading guide from Oneworld Publications includes prompt questions to encourage and guide conversation...

14 February 2022

The Unholy Trilogy Reading Group Questions

Dive deeper into the world of Lisa McInerney’s ‘The Unholy Trilogy’ with these reading group questions to help guide your discussion.

09 February 2022

The School for Good Mothers Reading Guide

This reading group guide for ‘The School for Good Mothers’ includes an introduction, discussion questions, and ideas for enhancing your book club. The suggested questions are intended to help your reading group find new and interesting angles and topics for...

04 November 2021

Booker Prize 2021 shortlist reading group guides

If you’re reading any of the Booker Prize 2021 shortlisted titles, these reading guides will help to spark discussion and get you thinking.

01 June 2021

Read with Pride - Summer of Reading List 2021 A3 poster

The second Paper & Hearts Society adventure. Join Olivia and The Paper & Hearts Society gang in this joyful comfort read and celebration of books from Booktuber Lucy Powrie. The perfect book for fans of Alice Oseman, Holly Smale and...

24 May 2021

The Yearbook by Holly Bourne - Teachers' Notes

Paige is used to staying quiet in the face of lies. Like how popular girl Grace is a such an amazing person (lie). How Laura steals people’s boyfriends (lie). How her own family are so perfect (lie). Now Grace and friends...

04 February 2021

February 2021 Children's and Young People booklist - Express Yourself (Children's Mental Health Week)

Place2Be launched the first ever Children’s Mental Health Week in 2015 to shine a spotlight on the importance of children and young people’s mental health. This year’s theme is Express Yourself as expressing yourself is about finding ways to share...

02 December 2020

December 2020 Children's and Young People booklist - Books of the Year

It’s been another year of fantastic books and we’re delighted to present our Books of the Year list for 2020 for children and young people. Our staff have chosen their top recommendations of new books from the year. You can...

05 November 2020

November 2020 Children's and Young People booklist - Non-fiction

For Non-Fiction November, we have created a list filled with the best non-fiction for children and young people. There are memoirs, essay collections and books with great advice. You can join in with the conversation online using #NonFictionBooklist and tagging us...

26 October 2020

The Reading Agency booklist for ESOL learners

This booklist has been compiled as part of the Reading Ahead with ESOL in prisons project funded by The Bell Foundation together with guidance provided by NATECLA. Originally created for use in prisons, these books are useful for anyone working...

07 October 2020

October 2020 Children's and Young People booklist - Powerful Poetry

The fantastic National Poetry Day shines a spotlight on how much fun and important poetry is. We have created a booklist with some of our favourite rhyming picture books, poetry collections and books written in verse. You can join in with...

01 October 2020

Emergent Reader titles by Ransom

Ransom Publishing have a broad range of titles available to support emergent adult readers at various levels. Find out more in this leaflet and visit their website here: https://www.ransom.co.uk/catalogsearch/advanced

02 September 2020

September 2020 Children's and Young People booklist - Back to School Books

Starting back at school can be an anxious time for lots of children and young people, let alone after the Covid-19 lockdown. To help support this transition, we have created a booklist of stories where characters face issues that some...

28 August 2020

YA Booklist - Reading Hack Recommendations

If you’re a fan of YA lit or are looking for books to engage young people, check out our latest YA reading recommendations, all chosen by young adults. See what our reviewers thought of each title over on the Reading Hack...

23 July 2020

Education & Training Foundation ESOL for Refugees: resources for new arrivals

Visit the Education & Training foundation for resources and teaching materials to support ESOL learners and specifically refugees. These resources aim to help ESOL practitioners better meet the early integration needs of refugees who are New to ESOL i.e. working below,...

23 July 2020

Beyond Words: Coping with Coronavirus Picture Stories

Free picture stories and illustrated guides to support people with learning disabilities and autism through the coronavirus pandemic. Take a look at the Beyond Words books for: Beating the Virus Mental health, end of life and bereavement Secure settings Here: https://booksbeyondwords.co.uk/coping-with-coronavirus/#secure-settings

04 June 2020

June 2020 - Pride booklist for children and young people

June is Pride Month, so it is the perfect time to share our favourite LGBTQ+ positive books for children and young people. These books highlight family dynamics and stories to help develop the values of acceptance and kindness towards themselves...

29 May 2020

Reading Ahead for prisons during Covid-19 toolkit

This toolkit contains ideas and resources for continuing with Reading Ahead in prison settings responding to the current lockdown during Covid-19. This is a working document and will be updated as more resources become available. Do get in touch if you...

20 May 2020

Reading Ahead during Covid-19 toolkit

This toolkit contains ideas and resources for continuing with Reading Ahead despite closures of public libraries, colleges and workplaces during Covid-19. This is a working document and will be updated as more resources become available. Do get in touch if you...

19 May 2020

This Is Going To Hurt: Diary Writing Challenge

This activity sheet has been designed for use alongside reading the Quick Reads version of Adam Kay’s This Is Going To Hurt. It provides inspiration and a framework for starting a diary.

30 April 2020

The Reading Agency Hub

Here you can access The Reading Agency at home. You’ll find ideas, activities and challenges from across our programmes to entertain and educate yourself, your family or those you are teaching remotely. The activities will be refreshed every couple of weeks...

21 January 2020

The Monster Writing (A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness) - guide

Walker Books have an exciting creative writing challenge called THE MONSTER CHALLENGE. ‘Stories are important. Stories can be more important than anything. If they carry the truth.’ Patrick Ness, A Monster Calls Are you a young person with a passion for telling...

09 December 2019

The Reading Agency Books 2019 - Children and young people booklist

Every year, the staff at The Reading Agency enjoy picking and sharing our favourite books for children and young people. We have three booklists of the books we have loved the most from 2019: picture and illustrated books, books for...

02 December 2019

Making Reading Ahead work for prisoners with ESOL

This four-page leaflet draws together the findings, practical tips and creative tools from our three-year project to support prisoners with ESOL funded by The Bell Foundation. Please scroll down this resources page to find other downloadable items.

21 November 2019

Reading Friends Tone of Voice Guidelines

Use the Reading Friends tone of voice guidelines for reference when preparing written materials such as social media posts.

18 November 2019

Reading Friends Logo- White out version (England & NI)

Download the Reading Friends logo for publicity of your Reading Friends projects. Please refer to our branding guidelines on usage.

16 November 2019

Reading Friends Logo- White out version (Scotland)

Download the Reading Friends logo for publicity of your Reading Friends projects. Please refer to our branding guidelines on usage.

10 November 2019

The Reading Agency Logo

Download The Reading Agency logo for publicity of your Reading Friends projects. Please refer to our branding guidelines on usage.

06 November 2019

Reading Friends Resource Pack: The Lost Words

This pack provides further materials and ideas for activities to use alongside the session idea The Lost Words.