Bookaboo is a new series for children aged three to six, which encourages reading for pleasure, shown on CITV.

Bookaboo is a multi-platform live action and animation series about a 'rock puppy' drummer who can't play until he has shared a book with someone! It is backed up by a publicity campaign, aimed at parents, which highlights the pleasure of reading out loud and sharing picture books.

The show runs for 13 episodes from 2 March to 3 April, and features a host of celebrities (storytime ambassadors) who meet Bookaboo and help him out by sharing a story.

The 13 titles were chosen on the basis that they are fun to read out loud and both children and adults will find them entertaining.

The titles are as follows (not in order of transmission):

  • The Cow That Laid An Egg by Andy Cutbill and illustrated by Russel Ayto
  • Splat the Cat by Rob Scotton
  • More Pants by Giles Andreae and illustrated by Nick Sharratt
  • Whatever by William Bee
  • The Hairy Toe, illustrated by Daniel Postgate
  • A Mummy For Owen by Marion Dane Bauer and illustrated by John Butler
  • No Matter What by Debi Gliori
  • Class Two at the Zoo by Julia Jarman and illustrated by Lynne Chapman
  • The Lamb Who Came for Dinner by Steve Smallman and Joelle Dreidemy
  • Pooh Is That You Bertie? by David Roberts
  • That Rabbit Belongs to Emily Brown by Cressida Cowell and Neal Layton
  • The Night Pirates by Peter Harris and illustrated by Deborah Allwright
  • Norma Snows by Paula Metcalf


From January all the Bookaboo celebrity storytime ambassadors will be announced and a publicity campaign will highlight the importance of bedtime stories.

There will be further promotions on ITV and GMTV during February. And there will be an official website with 'behind the scenes' footage and online campaign featuring all the celebrity storytime ambassadors.

Transmission dates

Bookaboo launches on CITV on 2 March. There's an episode each day (excluding weekends) at the following times: 12.15, 15:15, 17:45. Once all the episodes have been shown, the series will be repeated until 3 April.

To celebrate World Book Day on Thursday 5 March, eight Bookaboo episodes will be shown on CITV.


External links

Bookaboo website

Download files


The Reading Agency